New Brighton v Southport and Birkdale
Liverpool and District Cricket Competition 1937
VenueRake Lane, Wallasey on 19th June 1937 (1-day single innings match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultNew Brighton won by 3 wickets
PointsNew Brighton 2; Southport and Birkdale 0

Southport and Birkdale inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RG Stevensb Barber11      
PWG Suttonc [unknown] b Strange76  111  
LJS Woodlbw b Barber12      
J Threlfallc Reece b Strange12      
CR Mortonnot out112  141  
N Eadiec M Halliwell b Barber7      
JP Wrightb Barber39      
HF Ainleydid not bat      
CR Lorddid not bat      
WK Holtdid not bat      
HW Leighdid not bat      
Total(6 wickets, declared, 162 minutes)275
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-275
New Brighton bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

New Brighton inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RP Fiskb Holt57      
CS Reeceb Leigh94 56124  
JD Canevalic Morton b Leigh13      
JN Halliwellc Stevens b Lord34      
HG Woottonc Holt b Lord22      
AB Woottonc and b Holt3      
RD Gillmorec Sutton b Holt5      
AE Edwardsnot out14      
WH Barbernot out23      
CA Strangedid not bat      
M Halliwelldid not bat      
Total(7 wickets)277
Fall of wickets:
1-117 (Reece), 2-?, 3-?, 4-227, 5-?, 6-235, 7-240
Southport and Birkdale bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

--> Bowling in the Southport and Birkdale innings adds 124 runs under
--> Bowling in the New Brighton innings adds 56 runs under

The source does not indicate which Wootton caught Sutton
CR Morton and N Eadie put on 132 in just over an hour for the fifth Southport wicket
With New Brighton needing two runs to win from the last ball, H Leigh bowled WH Barber with a no ball.. Barber hit the next delivery for two to win the match.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive