Hampshire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1895
VenueUnited Services Ground, Portsmouth on 22nd, 23rd, 24th August 1895 (3-day match)
Balls per over5
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultHampshire won by 3 wickets
PointsHampshire 1; Leicestershire -1
UmpiresH Draper, J Lillywhite
Close of play day 1Hampshire (1) 25/0 (Wynyard 5*, Ward 16*)
Close of play day 2Hampshire (2) 6/0 (Ward 2*, Wootton 3*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GW Hillyardc Wynyard b Soar8     
J Hollandc Wynyard b Baldwin54     
W Tomlinc Hill b Soar0     
AD Pougherc Barton b Wootton20     
AE Knightc Barton b Hill53     
*CE de Traffordb Soar46     
J Baconc Olivier b Hill9     
F Wrightc Olivier b Wootton0     
F Geesonlbw b Hill0     
A Woodcocknot out16     
+JP Whitesidec JM Quinton b Soar0     
Extras(5 b, 1 lb)6
Total(all out, 127.1 overs)212
Fall of wickets:
1-17, 2-17, 3-59, 4-136, 5-142, 6-175, 7-176, 8-183, 9-212, 10-212 (127.1 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Baldwin40   15531--
Wootton29   12412--
FWD Quinton11   3250--
Hill19   4443--

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*EG Wynyardc Pougher b Wright18     
HF Wardc Hillyard b Pougher28     
VA Bartonc Holland b Pougher19     
FWD Quintonc Whiteside b Woodcock6     
AJL Hillb Woodcock4     
FH Baconb Woodcock30     
JM Quintonc Hillyard b Wright2     
T Soarc Hillyard b Pougher19     
+SR Olivierrun out0     
H Baldwinc Wright b Woodcock10     
J Woottonnot out0     
Extras(14 b, 2 lb)16
Total(all out, 67.2 overs)152
Fall of wickets:
1-54, 2-58, 3-83, 4-87, 5-91, 6-99, 7-134, 8-134, 9-148, 10-152 (67.2 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wright13   4352--
Hillyard12   3210--
Pougher25   15253--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*CE de Traffordb Baldwin0     
J Hollandb Soar17     
W Tomlinc Wynyard b Soar10     
AD Pougherc FWD Quinton b Wootton17     
AE Knightb Wootton1     
GW Hillyardc Olivier b Hill33     
J Baconb Wootton0     
F Wrightc JM Quinton b Wootton18     
F Geesonb Wootton5     
A Woodcockrun out2     
+JP Whitesidenot out5     
Extras(8 b, 1 w)9
Total(all out, 60.2 overs)117
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-17, 3-49, 4-49, 5-53, 6-55, 7-89, 8-98, 9-101, 10-117 (60.2 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Soar20   5452--
Baldwin12   6201--
Wootton21   8375--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HF Wardc Geeson b Pougher10     
J Woottonc Whiteside b Pougher35     
*EG Wynyardc Whiteside b Pougher19     
FWD Quintonnot out55     
AJL Hillb Geeson13     
VA Bartonlbw b Pougher11     
FH Baconc Hillyard b Wright13     
T Soarc de Trafford b Woodcock13     
JM Quintonnot out3     
+SR Olivierdid not bat      
H Baldwindid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 3 lb)7
Total(7 wickets, 89.4 overs)179
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-54, 3-73, 4-96, 5-113, 6-142, 7-173
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wright10   3201--
Hillyard4   0130--
Pougher44   22674--
Geeson16   2251--

--> JM Quinton made his debut in County Championship matches
--> SR Olivier made his debut in first-class matches
--> SR Olivier made his debut in County Championship matches
--> J Holland (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 2
--> EG Wynyard (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 16
--> J Wootton (2) passed his previous highest score of 31 in County Championship matches
--> AJL Hill reached 100 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Leicestershire first innings
--> AJL Hill achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Leicestershire first innings (previous best was 2-48)
--> AD Pougher reached 100 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Hampshire first innings
--> J Wootton achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Leicestershire second innings (previous best was 5-46)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive