Cambridge University v Marylebone Cricket Club
University Match 1897
VenueFP Fenner's Ground, Cambridge on 7th, 8th, 9th June 1897 (3-day match)
Balls per over5
TossMarylebone Cricket Club won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresRP Carpenter, FH Farrands
Close of play day 1Cambridge University (1) 179/1 (Burnup 70*, Marriott 71*; 56 overs)
Close of play day 2No play

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Lord GW Scottc Druce b Shine28      
*JHJ Hornsbyc Druce b Shine52      
G Kempc Jessop b Shine23      
CP Foleyc Mitchell b Shine13      
AE Trottb Shine45      
JP O'Halloranb Shine1      
HT Stanleyrun out9      
J Burnsc Marriott b Shine1      
AE Leathamnot out19      
+J Carlinc Druce b Wilson1      
W Rochec Mitchell b Wilson0      
Extras(13 b, 3 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)18
Total(all out, 87.2 overs)210
Fall of wickets:
1-73, 2-?, 3-113, 4-135, 5-149, 6-180, 7-?, 8-207, 9-210, 10-210 (87.2 ov)
Cambridge University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jessop13   2290--
Shine31   7797--
Fernie17   4530--

Cambridge University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CJ Burnupnot out70      
F Mitchellc Scott b Trott32      
HH Marriottnot out71      
*NF Drucedid not bat      
AG Richardsondid not bat      
GL Jessopdid not bat      
CEM Wilsondid not bat      
+EH Braydid not bat      
HG Curgenvendid not bat      
EB Shinedid not bat      
AE Ferniedid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 5 lb)6
Total(1 wicket, 56 overs)179
Fall of wickets:
1-55 (Mitchell)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Roche17   2500--
Trott20   5591--
O'Halloran12   2300--
Burns4   0120--
Leatham3   0220--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> HG Curgenven made his debut for Cambridge University in first-class matches
--> EB Shine reached 100 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive