Otago v Northern Districts
Shell Trophy 1981/82
VenueMolyneux Park, Alexandra on 27th, 28th, 29th December 1981 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthern Districts won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsOtago 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Northern Districts 7 (Batting 3, Bowling 4)
UmpiresWS Garrick, NF Tapper
Close of play day 1Otago (1) 73/2 (Hoskin 7*, BR Blair 21*)
Close of play day 2Northern Districts (2) 107/6 (Howarth 1*, Parker 4*)
Man of the MatchJG Wright

Northern Districts first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+MJE Wrightrun out7     
JG Wrightc and b JG Bracewell124     
*GP Howarthc WL Blair b Boock58     
BG Cooperlbw b Boock21     
JM Parkerc Hills b JG Bracewell47     
ADG Robertslbw b JG Bracewell3     
DJ Whitelbw b Boock4     
BL Cairnsb JG Bracewell2     
CW Dickesonc BR Blair b JG Bracewell6     
SR Gillespieb JG Bracewell2     
SJ Scottnot out0     
Extras(2 b, 7 lb, 3 nb)12
Total(all out, 96.2 overs)286
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-159, 3-215, 4-215, 5-227, 6-236, 7-245, 8-265, 9-283, 10-286 (96.2 ov)
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
BP Bracewell11   4250--
Hills8   2300--
Abernethy9   4170--
JG Bracewell34.27916--
Boock34   51113--

Otago first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IA Rutherfordb Roberts20     
JG Bracewellc Cooper b Roberts15     
RN Hoskinrun out27     
BR Blairc Howarth b White82     
WL Blairc Cooper b White22     
GJ Dawsonlbw b White4     
*+WK Leesb White8     
B Abernethyc Howarth b White6     
BP Bracewellb White8     
PW Hillsnot out4     
SL Boocknot out8     
Extras(7 b, 6 lb, 11 nb)24
Total(9 wickets, innings closed, 103 overs)228
Fall of wickets:
1-45, 2-46, 3-134, 4-170, 5-180, 6-196, 7-197, 8-210, 9-215
Northern Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gillespie14   5250--
Cairns16   8290--
Scott12   4420--
Roberts9   5122--
Dickeson24   8420--
White22   10456--
Howarth6   390--

Northern Districts second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+MJE Wrightb Boock30     
JG Wrightlbw b Boock20     
ADG Robertslbw b BP Bracewell12     
BG Cooperc Dawson b JG Bracewell12     
DJ Whitec and b Boock20     
SR Gillespieb JG Bracewell6     
*GP Howarthlbw b Boock16     
JM Parkernot out44     
BL Cairnsb Boock58     
CW Dickesonlbw b JG Bracewell1     
SJ Scottst Lees b Boock4     
Extras(3 lb, 1 nb)4
Total(all out, 88 overs)227
Fall of wickets:
1-45, 2-54, 3-67, 4-95, 5-95, 6-103, 7-135, 8-209, 9-218, 10-227 (88 ov)
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
BP Bracewell11   2301--
Hills3   1130--
Abernethy4   280--
JG Bracewell31   10773--
Boock39   18956--

Otago second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IA Rutherfordc Scott b Dickeson29     
JG Bracewellc and b Howarth33     
RN Hoskinc Gillespie b Dickeson33     
BR Blairc Cairns b Dickeson52     
WL Blairlbw b Dickeson9     
GJ Dawsonnot out27     
*+WK Leesc Howarth b Dickeson0     
B Abernethynot out31     
BP Bracewelldid not bat      
PW Hillsdid not bat      
SL Boockdid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 4 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)12
Total(6 wickets, 100 overs)226
Fall of wickets:
1-66, 2-68, 3-130, 4-165, 5-170, 6-170
Northern Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gillespie11   3210--
Cairns14   1420--
Roberts4   290--
Dickeson38   16595--
White19   2550--
Howarth13   4271--
Cooper1   010--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> B Abernethy made his debut in Plunket Shield matches
--> B Abernethy made his debut in first-class matches
--> JG Bracewell (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 15
--> BR Blair (2) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 37
--> JG Bracewell reached 100 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Northern Districts first innings
--> DJ White achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Otago first innings (previous best was 3-49)
--> DJ White achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Plunket Shield matches in the Otago first innings (previous best was 3-49)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive