Canterbury v Auckland
Shell Trophy 1981/82
VenueLancaster Park, Christchurch on 6th, 7th, 8th January 1982 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossCanterbury won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsCanterbury 6 (Batting 3, Bowling 3); Auckland 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4)
UmpiresBL Aldridge, RL McHarg
Close of play day 1Auckland (1) 39/1 (Parsons 26*, Crowe 1*)
Close of play day 2Auckland (1) 245/7 (Snedden 41*, Stott 27*)
Man of the MatchRJ Hadlee

Canterbury first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DA Dempseyc Hellaby b Troup0     
PJ Rattrayb McIntyre44     
PE McEwanc Crowe b Snedden19     
*CL Bullc Scott b Stott15     
VR Brownc Crowe b Troup16     
RT Lathamb Snedden24     
DW Steadlbw b Stott32     
RJ Hadleec Scott b Stott32     
+BD Ritchierun out40     
SR McNallyb McIntyre39     
GC Batemannot out0     
Extras(6 b, 12 lb, 6 nb)24
Total(all out, 95.4 overs)285
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-33, 3-78, 4-103, 5-139, 6-189, 7-196, 8-219, 9-284, 10-285 (95.4 ov)
Auckland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Troup17   4682--
Snedden21   3772--
Stott20   9443--
Hellaby6   2170--

Auckland first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AEW Parsonsb McNally31     
TJ Franklinb Bateman11     
MD Croweb Bateman24     
AJ Huntb Stead58     
ATR Hellabyc Ritchie b McNally15     
*JF Reidc Latham b Stead17     
MC Sneddennot out41     
JM McIntyreb Stead7     
LW Stottnot out27     
+NA Scottdid not bat      
GB Troupdid not bat      
Extras(7 b, 6 lb, 1 nb)14
Total(7 wickets, declared, 100 overs)245
Fall of wickets:
1-31, 2-49, 3-100, 4-131, 5-165, 6-170, 7-183
Canterbury bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hadlee31   9720--
Bateman28   9572--
McNally16   3442--
Stead24   11583--
McEwan1   100--

Canterbury second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DA Dempseyb McIntyre41     
PJ Rattrayc Troup b McIntyre36     
PE McEwanrun out7     
*CL Bullc McIntyre b Stott2     
RT Lathamc Scott b Stott4     
DW Steadnot out42     
RJ Hadleeb Snedden24     
VR Brownnot out12     
+BD Ritchiedid not bat      
SR McNallydid not bat      
GC Batemandid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 6 lb)12
Total(6 wickets, declared, 67 overs)180
Fall of wickets:
1-76, 2-83, 3-89, 4-101, 5-102, 6-148
Auckland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Troup4   0130--
Snedden12   2471--
Stott29   10632--
McIntyre22   7452--

Auckland second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AEW Parsonsb Hadlee5     
TJ Franklinc sub b Hadlee0     
MD Crowelbw b McNally9     
AJ Huntb Bateman32     
ATR Hellabyc sub b Hadlee3     
MC Sneddenb Hadlee1     
LW Stottlbw b Hadlee0     
*JF Reidlbw b Hadlee12     
JM McIntyrenot out1     
+NA Scottnot out0     
GB Troupdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 8 lb, 2 nb)14
Total(8 wickets, 51.1 overs)77
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-11, 3-23, 4-46, 5-48, 6-48, 7-67, 8-77
Canterbury bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hadlee22   6266--
Bateman11   681--
McNally8   1191--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> PJ Rattray (1) passed his previous highest score of 36 in first-class matches
--> PJ Rattray (1) passed his previous highest score of 36 in Plunket Shield matches
--> SR McNally (1) passed his previous highest score of 36 in first-class matches
--> SR McNally (1) passed his previous highest score of 36 in Plunket Shield matches
--> AJ Hunt (1) passed his previous highest score of 10 in Plunket Shield matches
--> AJ Hunt (1) passed his previous highest score of 22 in first-class matches
--> MC Snedden (1) passed his previous highest score of 33 in Plunket Shield matches
--> RJ Hadlee reached 150 wickets in Plunket Shield matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Auckland second innings
--> RJ Hadlee achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Plunket Shield matches in the Auckland second innings (previous best was 6-28)
--> VR Brown retired hurt in the Canterbury first innings (team had lost 4 wickets) - he returned when the score was 189/6





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive