Old Hurst Johnians v Sussex Clergy
Other matches in England 1925 (Old Hurst Johnian Cricket Week)
VenueHurstpierpoint College Ground, Hurstpierpoint on 5th August 1925 (1-day single innings match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultOld Hurst Johnians won by 5 wickets

Sussex Clergy inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JE Gardinerrun out15     
HJ Tannerc MA Pitcher b Rogers0     
CH Clarkec Grinsted b Rogers24     
F Frewerc Baker b Cartridge18     
LFM Taylorc Tucker b Cartridge2     
FP Hughesb Rogers0     
WJR Allennot out11     
CW Millsb Grinsted27     
W Carterrun out2     
S Whiterun out0     
CW Thomasc and b Wilson0     
Extras(6 b, 1 lb, 3 w)10
Total(all out, 39.3 overs)109
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Tanner), 2-26 (Gardiner), 3-60 (Clarke), 4-65 (Frewer), 5-68 (Hughes), 6-69 (Taylor), 7-99 (Mills), 8-105 (Carter), 9-105 (White), 10-109 (Thomas, 39.3 ov)
Old Hurst Johnians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rogers13   4283--
Cartridge12   33922-
Grinsted7   0231--

Old Hurst Johnians inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LE Cartridgelbw b Tanner2     
GWE Bakerc Frewer b Mills25     
EL Pitcherb Thomas15     
*VR Rogersc Carter b Frewer9     
DG Millsrun out3     
VJ Grinstedb Allen91     
AF Gillisb Allen46     
MA Pitcherc Allen b Tanner0     
AC Tuckerc sub b Tanner1     
FD Wilsonb Tanner14     
WH Wellernot out26     
Extras(6 b, 1 lb, 2 w)9
Total(all out, 44.5 overs)241
Fall of wickets:
1-10 (Cartridge), 2-32 (Baker), 3-54 (EL Pitcher), 4-56 (Rogers), 5-58 (Mills), 6-187 (Gillis), 7-190 (MA Pitcher), 8-200 (Tucker), 9-203 (Grinsted), 10-241 (Wilson, 44.5 ov)
Sussex Clergy bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mills10   3471--
Thomas6   1211--
Frewer7   1421--
Taylor2   0170--
Carter1   0502-
Allen4   0272--

--> Old Hurst Johnians batted on after winning

The scorebook records that "as rain fell during the whole of the morning several of the clerics failed to turn up and lay substitutes had to be found. Play was not started until after lunch."





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive