Sussex v Leicestershire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1986
VenueCounty Ground, Hove on 7th, 9th, 10th June 1986 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 21 runs
PointsSussex 4 (Batting 1, Bowling 3); Leicestershire 22 (Batting 2, Bowling 4)
UmpiresR Julian, KJ Lyons
Close of play day 1Sussex (1) 76/3 (AP Wells 15*, Pigott 8*)
Close of play day 2Sussex (2) 13/0 (Lenham 4*, Green 8*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
L Potterc Parker b Imran Khan3     
RA Cobbc Parker b Pigott7     
*P Willeyc Gould b Imran Khan59     
JJ Whitakerc Lenham b Imran Khan18     
NE Briersretired hurt17     
TJ Boonc sub (DK Standing) b Jones49     
PB Cliftc Gould b Jones27     
PAJ DeFreitaslbw b Pigott25     
WKM Benjaminlbw b CM Wells7     
+P Gillretired hurt4     
JP Agnewnot out5     
Extras(11 lb, 4 nb)15
Total(all out, 74.4 overs)236
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-10, 3-35, 4-136, 5-188, 6-211, 7-225, 8-227
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Imran Khan18.46553--
Pigott20   5542--
Reeve8   2210--
CM Wells10   0281--
Bredin6   0250--

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NJ Lenhamb Clift13     
AM Greenc Potter b Agnew25     
PWG Parkerb DeFreitas13     
AP Wellsc Boon b Clift34     
ACS Pigottc Clift b DeFreitas31     
CM Wellslbw b Clift0     
Imran Khanlbw b Benjamin1     
*+IJ Gouldrun out5     
DA Reevec Potter b Benjamin15     
AN Jonesnot out7     
AM Bredinb DeFreitas4     
Extras(2 b, 2 lb, 6 nb)10
Total(all out, 66.4 overs)158
Fall of wickets:
1-29, 2-54, 3-63, 4-117, 5-117, 6-118, 7-123, 8-146, 9-146, 10-158 (66.4 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Agnew17   2491--
Benjamin19   5592--
Clift19   8293--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
L Potterlbw b Lenham55     
RA Cobbc sub (CP Phillipson) b Pigott67     
*P Willeyc Green b Imran Khan3     
JJ Whitakerc Parker b Imran Khan26     
TJ Boonc sub (CP Phillipson) b Imran Khan1     
PB Cliftc sub (CP Phillipson) b Imran Khan0     
PAJ DeFreitasnot out21     
WKM Benjaminlbw b CM Wells1     
JP Agnewc Lenham b Pigott18     
+P Gilllbw b Imran Khan0     
NE Briersabsent hurt
Extras(7 lb)7
Total(all out, 63.5 overs)199
Fall of wickets:
1-84, 2-101, 3-145, 4-148, 5-148, 6-168, 7-169, 8-198, 9-199 (63.5 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Imran Khan21.55525--
Pigott16   1632--
Jones10   1340--
CM Wells7   1161--
Lenham8   2231--
Bredin1   040--

Sussex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NJ Lenhamc +sub (IP Butcher) b DeFreitas40     
AM Greenc +sub (IP Butcher) b Agnew20     
PWG Parkerb Clift1     
Imran Khanlbw b Clift0     
CM Wellsc Benjamin b DeFreitas46     
AP Wellsc Potter b DeFreitas76     
*+IJ Gouldc Boon b DeFreitas8     
DA Reeveb DeFreitas3     
ACS Pigottb Clift20     
AN Jonesc Benjamin b Agnew13     
AM Bredinnot out8     
Extras(13 b, 7 lb, 1 nb)21
Total(all out, 76 overs)256
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-27, 3-27, 4-116, 5-121, 6-135, 7-139, 8-191, 9-236, 10-256 (76 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Agnew21   5682--
Benjamin18   2620--
Clift18   8453--
DeFreitas19   3615--

--> JJ Whitaker (1) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 18
--> RA Cobb (2) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 9
--> ACS Pigott (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 17
--> PAJ DeFreitas reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Sussex first innings
--> PAJ DeFreitas reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 5th wicket in the Sussex second innings
--> NE Briers retired hurt in the Leicestershire first innings having scored 17 (team had lost 3 wickets)
--> P Gill retired hurt in the Leicestershire first innings having scored 4 (team score 236/8)

P Gill was injured when batting so JJ Whitaker and WKM Benjamin shared wicket-keeping duties on Day 1 before IP Butcher was permitted to keep wicket on Days 2 and 3





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive