Lancashire v Essex
County Championship 1900
VenueOld Trafford, Manchester on 7th, 8th, 9th June 1900 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEssex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresW Richards, A Shaw
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 267/4 (Lucas 34*, Kortright 49*)
Close of play day 2Lancashire (1) 256/7 (Holland 30*)

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*HGP Owenb Cuttell42      
HA Carpenterc Tyldesley b Briggs93      
PA Perrinrun out30      
CP McGaheyc Smith b Sharp9      
AP Lucasc Smith b Sharp61      
CJ Kortrightc MacLaren b Cuttell54      
W Reevesst Smith b Cuttell23      
CP Buckenhamc Ward b Briggs28      
+TM Russellc Eccles b Cuttell17      
HI Youngnot out2      
W Meadc Ward b Briggs0      
Extras(7 b, 3 lb)10
Total(all out, 170.4 overs)369
Fall of wickets:
1-94, 2-168, 3-168, 4-190, 5-278, 6-321, 7-328, 8-366, 9-368, 10-369 (170.4 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ward14   4180--
Sharp32   61062--
Huddleston9   3220--
Cuttell47   15894--

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*AC MacLarenb Mead20      
A Wardb Reeves81      
JT Tyldesleyb Kortright0      
J Briggsc Young b Buckenham48      
WR Cuttellb Mead5      
A Ecclesc Carpenter b Buckenham7      
CR Hartleyst Russell b Carpenter51      
J Hollandnot out30      
J Sharpdid not bat      
+C Smithdid not bat      
W Huddlestondid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 5 lb, 1 w)14
Total(7 wickets, 86.4 overs)256
Fall of wickets:
1-30, 2-33, 3-130, 4-137, 5-158, 6-189, 7-256 (86.4 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kortright19   35111-
Mead33   8762--
Young7   0270--
Buckenham18   1522--
Reeves5   0161--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> A Ward (1) passed 14500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 68
--> CR Hartley (1) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 29

Rain interrupted play on the first day. There were 17,000 spectators on the second day. No play was possible on the final day





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive