Warwickshire v Glamorgan
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1988
VenueEdgbaston, Birmingham on 30th, 31st August, 1st, 2nd September 1988 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGlamorgan won by 4 runs
PointsWarwickshire 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Glamorgan 23 (Batting 3, Bowling 4)
UmpiresJD Bond, RA White
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (1) 268/9 (Thomas 108*, Bastien 35*)
Close of play day 2Glamorgan (2) 3/0 (Butcher 1*, Cottey 1*)
Close of play day 3Glamorgan (2) 127/8 (Derrick 17*, Watkin 2*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*AR Butcherc Holloway b Donald11     
PA Cotteyc Small b Donald1     
MJ Cannc Holloway b Donald6     
MP Maynardlbw b Small63     
GC Holmeslbw b Donald0     
J Derricklbw b Small4     
JG Thomasc and b Small110     
+CP Metsonb Small19     
PD Northc Holloway b Small7     
SL Watkinb Small0     
S Bastiennot out36     
Extras(11 lb, 4 nb)15
Total(all out, 83.5 overs)272
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-24, 3-27, 4-27, 5-41, 6-114, 7-173, 8-189, 9-189, 10-272 (83.5 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Donald21   4594--
Munton28   12680--
Smith7   1510--
Gifford1   040--

Warwickshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*TA Lloydc Maynard b Watkin45     
PA Smithlbw b Watkin5     
Asif Dinc North b Watkin21     
DA Thornec Maynard b Watkin1     
AI Kallicharranc Metson b Watkin63     
DA Banksc Cann b Watkin0     
+PCL Hollowaylbw b Derrick16     
GC Smalllbw b Watkin31     
AA Donaldb Bastien9     
TA Muntonc Metson b Watkin3     
N Giffordnot out0     
Extras(8 b, 8 lb, 2 nb, 3 w)21
Total(all out, 93 overs)215
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-70, 3-76, 4-77, 5-77, 6-118, 7-192, 8-201, 9-215, 10-215 (93 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomas15   4540--
Watkin31   10598--
Bastien23   11371--
Derrick20   6481--
North2   200--
Holmes2   110--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*AR Butcherc Holloway b Small11     
PA Cotteyb Donald3     
MJ Cannc Holloway b Small22     
MP Maynardc Thorne b Small36     
GC Holmeslbw b Small4     
J Derrickb Donald21     
JG Thomasb Munton0     
+CP Metsonc Asif Din b Small1     
PD Northc Banks b Donald21     
SL Watkinc Holloway b Small5     
S Bastiennot out2     
Extras(2 b, 1 lb, 4 nb, 3 w)10
Total(all out, 53.4 overs)136
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-18, 3-67, 4-81, 5-82, 6-85, 7-86, 8-123, 9-134, 10-136 (53.4 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Donald15   5513--
Munton10   3231--
Smith3   0170--
Gifford2   200--

Warwickshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*TA Lloydb Thomas10     
PA Smithc Holmes b Thomas1     
Asif Dinb Derrick33     
DA Thornelbw b Thomas0     
AI Kallicharranc Metson b Derrick18     
DA Banksc Cann b Derrick1     
+PCL Hollowayc Metson b Thomas14     
GC Smalllbw b Thomas69     
AA Donaldb Derrick7     
TA Muntonc Metson b Thomas6     
N Giffordnot out23     
Extras(4 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)7
Total(all out, 60.4 overs)189
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-16, 3-16, 4-45, 5-55, 6-77, 7-83, 8-100, 9-107, 10-189 (60.4 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Watkin17   2550--
Bastien6   1110--
Derrick21   6474--

--> JG Thomas (1) passed his previous highest score of 100 in first-class matches
--> JG Thomas (1) passed his previous highest score of 100 in County Championship matches
--> JG Thomas (1) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 76
--> MJ Cann (2) passed his previous highest score of 16 in County Championship matches
--> MJ Cann (2) passed his previous highest score of 16 in first-class matches
--> SL Watkin achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Warwickshire first innings (previous best was 5-89)
--> SL Watkin achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Warwickshire first innings (previous best was 5-89)
--> JG Thomas reached 350 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 6th wicket in the Warwickshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive