Glamorgan v Hampshire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1988
VenueSophia Gardens, Cardiff on 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th September 1988 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultHampshire won by 2 wickets
PointsGlamorgan 7 (Batting 3, Bowling 4); Hampshire 19 (Bowling 3)
UmpiresR Julian, RA White
ScorersBT Denning (Glamorgan), VH Isaacs (Hampshire)
Close of play day 1Hampshire (1) 10/1 (Terry 10*, Maru 0*)
Close of play day 2Glamorgan (2) 187/4 (Maynard 71*, Metson 2*)
Close of play day 3Hampshire (2) 267/5 (Turner 17*, Ayling 4*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*AR Butcherc Turner b Maru74      
PA Cotteyrun out73      
PGP Roebuckc Terry b Connor0      
MP Maynardlbw b James50      
GC Holmesc Parks b James6      
J Derricklbw b Maru0      
JG Thomasc CL Smith b Maru0      
+CP Metsonnot out21      
PD Northlbw b James0      
SL Watkinc RA Smith b Connor8      
S Bastienb Connor0      
Extras(12 b, 12 lb, 3 nb)27
Total(all out, 104 overs)259
Fall of wickets:
1-147, 2-150, 3-180, 4-223, 5-224, 6-224, 7-224, 8-224, 9-259, 10-259 (104 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Connor18   4563--
Bakker17   5270--
Ayling17   6320--
James23   5543--
Maru29   9663--

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VP Terryc North b Thomas21      
CL Smithc Metson b Watkin0      
RJ Maruc Metson b Thomas3      
*MCJ Nicholasc Metson b Bastien21      
RA Smithlbw b Thomas0      
DR Turnernot out40      
KD Jameslbw b Thomas0      
JR Aylingc Thomas b Watkin17      
+RJ Parksb Watkin0      
CA Connorb Derrick1      
PJ Bakkerlbw b Derrick7      
Extras(1 b, 5 lb, 10 nb)16
Total(all out, 53.1 overs)126
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-17, 3-50, 4-50, 5-50, 6-51, 7-87, 8-87, 9-108, 10-126 (53.1 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomas20   3674--
Watkin15   5283--
Bastien10   3191--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*AR Butcherb James56      
PA Cotteyc Maru b Bakker8      
PGP Roebuckb Connor46      
MP Maynardlbw b Connor71      
GC Holmesc Parks b Bakker0      
+CP Metsonc Maru b Bakker2      
J Derricklbw b Connor1      
JG Thomasc Nicholas b Maru26      
PD Northb Connor4      
SL Watkinnot out11      
S Bastienb Maru4      
Extras(1 lb, 4 nb)5
Total(all out, 80.3 overs)234
Fall of wickets:
1-22, 2-107, 3-153, 4-164, 5-188, 6-188, 7-194, 8-208, 9-226, 10-234 (80.3 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Connor23   7614--
Bakker20   8413--
Ayling7   2250--
James15   3581--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VP Terryc Metson b North66      
CL Smithlbw b Watkin34      
*MCJ Nicholasb Derrick47      
RA Smithlbw b Derrick65      
DR Turnerlbw b Derrick24      
KD Jameslbw b Thomas1      
JR Aylingnot out54      
+RJ Parksb Watkin12      
RJ Maruc Maynard b Thomas28      
CA Connornot out5      
PJ Bakkerdid not bat      
Extras(19 lb, 11 nb, 4 w)34
Total(8 wickets, 138.4 overs)370
Fall of wickets:
1-85, 2-139, 3-206, 4-258, 5-259, 6-290, 7-309, 8-365
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomas28   6692--
Watkin35   11872--
Bastien27   11670--
North12   2321--

--> Glamorgan score at 100 overs in the first innings was 250-8
--> PA Cottey (1) passed his previous highest score of 59 in County Championship matches
--> RJ Maru (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 1
--> AR Butcher (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 2
--> PGP Roebuck (2) passed his previous highest score of 20 in County Championship matches
--> JG Thomas (2) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 16
--> PGP Roebuck made his debut for Glamorgan in County Championship matches
--> PGP Roebuck made his debut for Glamorgan in first-class matches
--> CA Connor reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Glamorgan first innings
--> CA Connor reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Glamorgan second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive