Wigan v AN Hornby's XI
Other matches in England 1898
VenueBull Hey, Wigan on 23rd April 1898 (1-day single innings match)
Balls per over5
PlayersWigan: 15; AN Hornby's XI: 12 (11 to bat and field)
TossAN Hornby's XI won the toss and decided to field
ResultAN Hornby's XI won by 7 wickets

Wigan inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RL Rennickc AN Hornby b Barlow12     
C Holdenb Barlow1     
J Halliwellb Barlow0     
HL Trotmanc Smith b Barlow14     
CR Darlingtonc Smith b Watson1     
A Barstowrun out25     
WF Goodwinc and b Barlow20     
A Bryhamb Watson0     
Hopkinsb Watson4     
A Shawc Barlow b Watson17     
F Hammersleyb Watson0     
S Ballc AH Hornby b Barlow1     
JM Gaskellnot out19     
GC Rogerrun out3     
FJ Taylorb Watson1     
Total(all out, 68.3 overs)121
Fall of wickets:
1-2 (Holden), 2-2 (Halliwell), 3-21 (Rennick), 4-22 (Darlington), 5-30 (Trotman), 6-73 (Goodwin), 7-73 (Bryham), 8-78 (Barstow), 9-80 (Hopkins), 10-80 (Hammersley), 11-81 (Ball), 12-117 (Shaw), 13-120 (Roger), 14-121 (Taylor, 68.3 ov)
AN Hornby's XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barlow28   12586--
Hallam4   1160--
Irving2   0100--

AN Hornby's XI inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*AN Hornbyretired out75     
RG Barlowc Barstow b Hopkins1     
AG Paulb Barstow0     
AH Hornbyb Goodwin6     
CR Hartleyc Rennick b Hopkins0     
JT Tyldesleynot out78     
GR Bakerc Rennick b Roger6     
+C Smithnot out2     
AW Hallamdid not bat      
GV Hornbydid not bat      
A Watsondid not bat      
T Irvingdid not bat      
Total(6 wickets, 55 overs)178
Fall of wickets:
1-9 (Barlow), 2-10 (Paul), 3-34 (AH Hornby), 4-41 (Hartley), 5-122 (AN Hornby), 6-151 (Baker)
Wigan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barstow13   0501--
Hopkins18   3582--
Goodwin13   3301--
Bryham3   0130--
Rennick5   190--
Roger3   081--

--> AN Hornby's XI batted on after winning

This match opened the new Wigan ground





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive