Southern Province v Western Province City
Singer President's Trophy 1993/94
VenueGalle International Stadium, Galle on 24th, 25th, 26th, 27th February 1994 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSouthern Province won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsSouthern Province 2 (Batting 1, Bowling 1); Western Province City 9 (Batting 2, Bowling 1)
UmpiresHBD Hettige, A Jayasundara
Close of play day 1Southern Province (1) 310 all out
Close of play day 2Western Province City (1) 275/5 (Gurusinha 121*, Dharmasena 33*)
Close of play day 3

Southern Province first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DD Wickramasingheb Gurusinha34     
SS Kulatungac Dharmasena b Kuruppuarachchi4     
SM Faumilbw b Hathurusingha13     
MAR Samarasekerab Gunaratne37     
WS Jayanthalbw b Gurusinha58     
H Premasirirun out1     
+SI de Saramst Wickremasinghe b Dharmasena20     
UDU Chandanac Wickramaratne b Hathurusingha86     
CPH Ramanayakec Wickremasinghe b Gurusinha36     
C Bandararun out5     
*KPJ Warnaweeranot out0     
Extras(11 lb, 2 nb, 3 w)16
Total(all out, 92.5 overs)310
Fall of wickets:
1-8 (Kulatunga), 2-30 (Faumi), 3-87 (Samarasekera), 4-101 (Wickramasinghe), 5-102 (Premasiri), 6-147 (de Saram), 7-185 (Jayantha), 8-291 (Chandana), 9-305 (Ramanayake), 10-310 (Bandara, 92.5 ov)
Western Province City bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gunaratne18   3551--
Kuruppuarachchi13   5321--
Hathurusingha19   3772--
Dharmasena16   4401--
Tillakaratne6   0260--

Western Province City first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
UC Hathurusinghac Kulatunga b Ramanayake53     
R Davidb Bandara14     
*AP Gurusinhalbw b Bandara126     
RPAH Wickramaratnelbw b Bandara9     
MV Pereralbw b Bandara0     
MN Nawazc Jayantha b Ramanayake1     
HDPK Dharmasenalbw b Ramanayake34     
YN Tillakaratnenot out47     
+AGD Wickremasinghec de Saram b Bandara32     
PW Gunaratneb Bandara0     
AK Kuruppuarachchic Samarasekera b Ramanayake2     
Extras(9 b, 17 lb, 26 nb, 7 w)59
Total(all out, 115 overs)377
Fall of wickets:
1-30 (David), 2-147 (Hathurusingha), 3-174 (Wickramaratne), 4-175 (Perera), 5-178 (Nawaz), 6-282 (Gurusinha), 7-284 (Dharmasena), 8-359 (Wickremasinghe), 9-359 (Gunaratne), 10-377 (Kuruppuarachchi, 115 ov)
Southern Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ramanayake33   8894--
Bandara30   4986--
Samarasekera13   1380--
Faumi10   1510--
Warnaweera20   5550--
Jayantha8   1170--
Chandana1   030--

--> C Bandara made his debut in first-class matches
--> WS Jayantha (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 36
--> HDPK Dharmasena (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 30
--> C Bandara achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Western Province City first innings

Play stopped on the 3rd day at 1.54 pm as there were no balls of the make authorised by the Board available to commence the Southern Province 2nd innings, two having gone out of shape in the 1st innings. On the 4th day the appropriate balls were available and Western Province City took the field but Southern Province did not appear. Southern Province objected, seeking a replay of the game because the loss of time on the 3rd day prevented any chance of their winning (there had also been a delay of 35 minutes when the umpires had to consult the Laws of Cricket following an incorrect decision to rule a batsman out hit wicket off a no-ball). The Tournament Committee told Western Province City to replay the game on April 1, 2, 3, 4, the dates originally set for the Final at Matara, and postponed the Final until April 22, 23, 24, 25. Western Province City strongly appealed to the Executive Committee, and the Tournament Committee then ruled the game as abandoned with no points to either side. Finally, the Executive Committee ruled that as the Tournament Committee had decided to continue the match on the 4th day and Southern Province had refused to play, the match should be awarded on first innings to Western Province City





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive