Kent v Essex
County Championship 1905
VenueSt Lawrence Ground, Canterbury on 7th, 8th, 9th August 1905 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossKent won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsKent 0; Essex 0
UmpiresJ Phillips, JE West
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 98/4 (Gillingham 9*, Reeves 18*)
Close of play day 2Essex (2) 97/2 (Perrin 45*, McGahey 1*)

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EW Dillonc and b Douglas51     
A Hearnec Russell b Buckenham6     
J Seymourc Tremlin b Reeves36     
SH Dayc Tremlin b Douglas21     
E Humphreysb Douglas0     
JR Masonc Fane b Buckenham35     
*CHB Marshamb Douglas0     
RNR Blakerb Reeves68 658- 
+FH Huishc Carpenter b Douglas0     
WJ Fairservicec Douglas b Buckenham3     
C Blythenot out17     
Extras(9 b)9
Total(all out, 62 overs)246
Fall of wickets:
1-20 (Hearne), 2-93 (Dillon), 3-99 (Seymour), 4-115 (Humphreys), 5-118 (Day), 6-118 (Marsham), 7-191 (Mason), 8-191 (Huish), 9-198 (Fairservice), 10-246 (Blaker, 62 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Buckenham20   4603--
Tremlin12   3240--
Reeves15   0862--
Douglas15   2675--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*FL Fanec Mason b Blythe4     
HA Carpenterc Marsham b Mason43  9- 
PA Perrinc Marsham b Hearne20     
CP McGaheyc Mason b Blythe2     
FH Gillinghamc Huish b Mason9     
W Reevesc Mason b Fairservice40     
G Tosettic Mason b Blythe36     
JWHT Douglasc Dillon b Blythe8     
+AE Russellc Seymour b Fairservice20     
CP Buckenhamnot out0     
B Tremlinb Fairservice0     
Extras(5 b)5
Total(all out, 73.3 overs)187
Fall of wickets:
1-17 (Fane), 2-69, 3-70, 4-73, 5-107, 6-142, 7-162, 8-187, 9-187, 10-187 (73.3 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Blythe35   9884--
Mason17   5352--
Hearne2   051--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EW Dillonc McGahey b Douglas68     
A Hearnec Russell b Buckenham24     
J Seymourb Tremlin0     
SH Dayc Carpenter b Tremlin13     
JR Masonc Perrin b Tremlin18     
RNR Blakerb Tremlin4     
*CHB Marshamc Douglas b Buckenham14     
+FH Huishc Russell b Buckenham6     
WJ Fairservicec Russell b Tremlin5     
C Blytheb Tremlin11     
E Humphreysnot out2     
Extras(4 b, 7 lb)11
Total(all out, 48.2 overs)176
Fall of wickets:
1-84 (Hearne), 2-87 (Seymour), 3-113 (Day), 4-116 (Dillon), 5-131 (Blaker), 6-150, 7-154, 8-160, 9-164, 10-176 (48.2 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Buckenham18   1633--
Douglas7   2301--

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*FL Faneb Blythe5     
HA Carpenterc Marsham b Dillon46     
PA Perrinst Huish b Blythe74     
CP McGaheyb Blythe6     
FH Gillinghamb Blythe1     
W Reevesb Mason1     
G Tosettib Blythe0     
JWHT Douglasnot out8 75   
+AE Russellb Blythe4 45   
CP Buckenhamnot out7     
B Tremlindid not bat      
Extras(7 b, 4 lb)11
Total(8 wickets, 80 overs)163
Fall of wickets:
1-6 (Fane), 2-94 (Carpenter), 3-106 (McGahey), 4-108 (Gillingham), 5-113 (Reeves), 6-114 (Tosetti), 7-141 (Perrin), 8-151 (Russell)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mason34   19521--
Blythe32   14626--
Fairservice7   1200--
Hearne6   1110--
Dillon1   071--

--> JR Mason (1) passed 14000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 5
--> HA Carpenter (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 30
--> CHB Marsham (2) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 11
--> CHB Marsham (2) passed 3500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 3
--> C Blythe reached 100 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Essex first innings
--> WJ Fairservice reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Essex first innings
--> CP Buckenham reached 200 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Kent second innings

E Humphreys was struck on the head by a ball from JWHT Douglas in the Kent first innings, and was bowled next ball; he took no further part in the match apart from batting last in the second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive