Griqualand West v Northern Transvaal
SuperSport Series 1996/97
VenueDe Beers Diamond Oval, Kimberley on 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th February 1997 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGriqualand West won the toss and decided to field
ResultGriqualand West won by 10 wickets
PointsGriqualand West 16 (Batting 4, Bowling 2); Northern Transvaal 4 (Batting 3, Bowling 1)
UmpiresRB Shah, HJ Sutherland
Close of play day 1Northern Transvaal (1) 278/5 (Seymore 127*, van Zyl 4*; 104 overs)
Close of play day 2Griqualand West (1) 203/2 (Gidley 61*, Barnard 80*; 70 overs)
Close of play day 3Northern Transvaal (2) 11/0 (Sommerville 4*, Seymore 7*; 8 overs)
Man of the MatchPH Barnard

Northern Transvaal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AJ Seymorelbw b Roe13233043313- 
BJ Sommervillec English b Swanepoel1958783- 
RF Pienaarc Arthur b English054-- 
DJJ de Vosc Brooker b Walsh849591- 
MJR Rindelb Walsh038-- 
M van Jaarsveldc Dry b Roe109177232172 
DJ van Zylc Bossenger b English27871164- 
*MJG Davisb Roe1075107-- 
S Elworthyc Bossenger b Roe3449854- 
+I Pistoriusc Bossenger b Walsh355-- 
GJ Kruisnot out022-- 
Extras(6 b, 11 lb, 4 nb)21
Total(all out, 139.1 overs)363
Fall of wickets:
1-52 (Sommerville), 2-53 (Pienaar), 3-87 (de Vos), 4-87 (Rindel), 5-258 (van Jaarsveld), 6-294 (Seymore), 7-313 (van Zyl), 8-360 (Davis), 9-363 (Pistorius), 10-363 (Elworthy)
Griqualand West bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Walsh27   5873--
Swanepoel25   10541--
English21   6572--
Benkenstein28   10520--
Gidley10   4220--

Griqualand West first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*JM Arthurb Rindel2439503- 
MI Gidleyc Elworthy b Davis612412593- 
CV Englishc Seymore b Davis2842394- 
PH Barnardc de Vos b van Zyl212329408262 
WM Dryc de Vos b Kruis7413017981 
FC Brookerc Elworthy b Davis45711014- 
BN Benkensteinnot out62829441 
+W Bossengernot out164855-- 
VA Walshdid not bat      
GA Roedid not bat      
AJ Swanepoeldid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 14 lb, 1 nb)19
Total(6 wickets, declared, 164 overs)541
Fall of wickets:
1-38 (Arthur), 2-74 (English), 3-207 (Gidley), 4-382 (Dry), 5-431 (Barnard), 6-492 (Brooker)
Northern Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Elworthy27   6920--
Kruis22   4721--
de Vos17   2490--
Rindel16   3501--
Davis44   31163--
van Zyl18   1781--
van Jaarsveld20   5660--

Northern Transvaal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BJ Sommervillec Dry b Walsh64360-- 
AJ Seymorec Bossenger b English26781264- 
RF Pienaarc Barnard b Swanepoel2147733- 
DJJ de Voslbw b English21730-- 
M van Jaarsveldc Arthur b Swanepoel30781334- 
DJ van Zylc Bossenger b Walsh62324-- 
MJR Rindelst Bossenger b Gidley3562965- 
*MJG Davisb Benkenstein1759702- 
S Elworthy hit wkt b Gidley2030343- 
+I Pistoriusc Bossenger b Swanepoel1151651- 
GJ Kruisnot out63240-- 
Extras(2 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)5
Total(all out, 86 overs)185
Fall of wickets:
1-20 (Sommerville), 2-54 (Seymore), 3-54 (Pienaar), 4-65 (de Vos), 5-75 (van Zyl), 6-128 (van Jaarsveld), 7-130 (Rindel), 8-156 (Elworthy), 9-170 (Davis), 10-185 (Pistorius)
Griqualand West bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Walsh21   7582--
Roe11   3280--
Gidley14   7212--
English12   6162--
Swanepoel15   7313--
Benkenstein13   2291--

Griqualand West second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*JM Arthurnot out5491- 
MI Gidleynot out5119-- 
CV Englishdid not bat      
PH Barnarddid not bat      
WM Drydid not bat      
FC Brookerdid not bat      
BN Benkensteindid not bat      
+W Bossengerdid not bat      
VA Walshdid not bat      
GA Roedid not bat      
AJ Swanepoeldid not bat      
Total(no wicket, 9 minutes, 2.3 overs)10
Northern Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rindel1   020--

--> BJ Sommerville made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> AJ Seymore (1) passed his previous highest score of 124 in first-class matches
--> M van Jaarsveld (1) passed his previous highest score of 93 in first-class matches
--> M van Jaarsveld (1) made his first century in first-class matches
--> PH Barnard (1) passed his previous highest score of 146 in first-class matches
--> PH Barnard (1) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 1





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive