Warwickshire v Nottinghamshire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1998
VenueEdgbaston, Birmingham on 21st, 22nd, 23rd, 24th May 1998 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNottinghamshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultNottinghamshire won by 6 wickets
PointsWarwickshire 4 (Bowling 4); Nottinghamshire 21 (Batting 1, Bowling 4)
UmpiresGI Burgess, AA Jones
Close of play day 1Nottinghamshire (1) 71/2 (Dowman 28*, Johnson 24*; 25.2 overs)
Close of play day 2Warwickshire (2) 159/2 (Powell 52*, Lara 54*; 49 overs)
Close of play day 3Nottinghamshire (2) 66/1 (Dowman 29*, Afzaal 21*; 31 overs)

Warwickshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Powellnot out701632247- 
+T Frostc Strang b Franks1347542- 
DL Hemplbw b Franks011-- 
*BC Larac Strang b Bowen2811-- 
DP Ostlerc Noon b Oram619271- 
DR Brownc Noon b Bowen616161- 
NMK Smithb Bowen036-- 
G Welchc Dowman b Bowen1432401- 
MA Sheikhc Noon b Oram11416-- 
MD Edmondc Noon b Franks023-- 
ESH Giddinsc Tolley b Oram13941-- 
Extras(6 b, 9 lb, 2 w)17
Total(all out, 57.2 overs)130
Fall of wickets:
1-29 (Frost), 2-29 (Hemp), 3-36 (Lara), 4-47 (Ostler), 5-56 (Brown), 6-62 (Smith), 7-94 (Welch), 8-100 (Sheikh), 9-101 (Edmond), 10-130 (Giddins, 57.2 ov)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Franks19   6393--
Bowen16   6224--
Tolley3   0170--
Strang2   110--

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MP Dowmanc Brown b Giddins441441668- 
RT Robinsonb Brown114151-- 
U Afzaalc Welch b Brown0914-- 
*P Johnsonc Frost b Sheikh4551788- 
NA Giec Lara b Sheikh133-- 
CM Tolleyc Frost b Giddins1234412- 
PJ Frankslbw b Brown3367854- 
+WM Noonretired hurt167191-- 
PA Strangnot out1834573- 
MN Bowenb Giddins1813172- 
AR Oramb Giddins0128-- 
Extras(2 b, 4 lb, 14 nb)20
Total(all out, 78.4 overs)218
Fall of wickets:
1-28 (Robinson), 2-32 (Afzaal), 3-106 (Johnson), 4-108 (Gie), 5-118 (Dowman), 6-130 (Tolley), 7-171 (Franks), 8-216 (Bowen), 9-218 (Oram, 78.4 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown23   6773--
Welch20   3630--
Sheikh10   2182--
Edmond3   170--

Warwickshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Powellc Johnson b Oram732393026- 
+T Frostc Johnson b Dowman4066846- 
DL Hempc Johnson b Bowen41726-- 
*BC Larac Afzaal b Franks809712213- 
DP Ostlerlbw b Oram1854771- 
DR Brownc Afzaal b Dowman11015-- 
NMK Smithc sub b Oram058-- 
G Welchc Robinson b Bowen1235562- 
MA Sheikhc Afzaal b Tolley2545484- 
MD Edmondnot out3712-- 
ESH Giddinsb Bowen056-- 
Extras(7 b, 13 lb, 2 nb, 2 w)24
Total(all out, 96.3 overs)280
Fall of wickets:
1-59 (Frost), 2-80 (Hemp), 3-196 (Lara), 4-232 (Powell), 5-235 (Ostler), 6-235 (Brown), 7-235 (Smith), 8-277 (Sheikh), 9-278 (Welch), 10-280 (Giddins, 96.3 ov)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Franks19   2641--
Oram24   11353--
Dowman14   5452--
Tolley8   1461--
Strang3   1110--

Nottinghamshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MP Dowmanc Lara b Sheikh631752158- 
RT Robinsonc Frost b Giddins84038-- 
U Afzaalnot out732012438- 
*P Johnsonc Ostler b Giddins1731353- 
NA Giec Welch b Giddins51220-- 
CM Tolleynot out399-- 
PJ Franksdid not bat      
+WM Noondid not bat      
PA Strangdid not bat      
MN Bowendid not bat      
AR Oramdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 6 lb, 16 nb)24
Total(4 wickets, 76.4 overs)193
Fall of wickets:
1-21 (Robinson), 2-133 (Dowman), 3-174 (Johnson), 4-186 (Gie)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown13   4190--
Welch10   3260--
Smith8   2160--
Sheikh17   5381--
Hemp3   0120--

--> MD Edmond made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> MJ Powell (1) passed his previous highest score of 39 in first-class matches
--> MJ Powell (1) passed his previous highest score of 39 in County Championship matches
--> MJ Powell (2) passed his previous highest score of 70 in first-class matches
--> MJ Powell (2) passed his previous highest score of 70 in County Championship matches
--> MA Sheikh (2) passed his previous highest score of 24 in County Championship matches
--> WM Noon retired hurt in the Nottinghamshire first innings having scored 16 (team score 186/7)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive