Lancashire Second XI v Hertfordshire
Minor Counties Championship 1907 (Semi-Final)
VenueOld Trafford, Manchester on 22nd, 23rd August 1907 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire Second XI won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLancashire Second XI won by an innings and 77 runs
UmpiresCE Brown, O Firth
Close of play day 1Hertfordshire (1) 46/7 (Dumbelton 7*, Rudd 8*)

Lancashire Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Hartleyc Titchmarsh b White123  11- 
JS Heapc Rudd b White40     
R Harrisonb White1     
G Radcliffec and b Coleman29     
TA Higsonlbw b White34     
BA Sharpb Doll4     
V Hopeb White6     
WK Tyldesleyb White0     
*T Ainscoughc Cowley b Coleman3     
LS Rowlandsc Cowley b White5     
+B Blomleynot out0     
Extras(15 b, 1 lb, 2 nb)18
Total(all out, 91.1 overs)263
Fall of wickets:
1-87 (Heap), 2-89 (Harrison), 3-148 (Radcliffe), 4-237, 5-246, 6-248, 7-250, 8-255, 9-263, 10-263 (91.1 ov)
Hertfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
White42   81027--
Doll4   0271-2
Dumbelton8   1440--
Rudd5   1230--

Hertfordshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Butcherb Heap0     
THK Dashwoodc Harrison b Higson4     
AJ Goldingb Higson0     
CH Titchmarshlbw b Heap2     
RB Cowleyc Tyldesley b Heap2     
HE Whiteb Heap6     
GG Dumbeltonrun out7     
WE Colemanb Heap13     
CT Ruddnot out28     
MHC Dollc Radcliffe b Heap10     
+CD Fastnedgeb Higson7     
Extras(3 lb, 3 nb)6
Total(all out, 36 overs)85
Fall of wickets:
1-1 (Butcher), 2-2 (Golding), 3-5, 4-8, 5-11, 6-18, 7-34, 8-51, 9-65, 10-85 (36 ov)
Lancashire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Heap18   6496--
Higson18   5303-3

Hertfordshire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
THK Dashwoodc Radcliffe b Heap18     
CT Ruddb Higson2     
AJ Goldingst Blomley b Heap18     
CH Titchmarshc Ainscough b Higson2     
A Butcherc Tyldesley b Heap21     
HE Whitec Sharp b Heap23     
RB Cowleyb Heap0     
WE Colemanb Rowlands0     
GG Dumbeltonst Blomley b Heap13     
MHC Dollc Tyldesley b Heap1     
+CD Fastnedgenot out0     
Extras(2 b, 1 nb)3
Total(all out, 52.4 overs)101
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-35, 3-38, 4-41, 5-75, 6-79, 7-80, 8-97, 9-99, 10-101 (52.4 ov)
Lancashire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Higson15   1292-1
Rowlands11   3141--

--> The match was scheduled for three days but completed in two.
--> A Hartley scored 1 five in the Lancashire Second XI first innings
--> BA Sharp made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> THK Dashwood made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> A Hartley (1) passed his previous highest score of 103 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> A Hartley (1) passed 500 runs in Minor Counties Championship matches when he reached 83
--> JS Heap reached 50 wickets in Minor Counties Championship matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Hertfordshire first innings

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Lancashire 2nd XI won this semi-final match by an innings and 77 runs at around 4.00 pm on the second day after enforcing the follow-on. The victory meant the home team would meet either Glamorgan or Surrey 2nd XI in the final of the competition. Hertfordshire had the worst of the pitch and the third day set aside for the match was not needed. For the winners, there were 1 five, 11 fours, 8 threes and 10 twos in Hartley's 123. Heap took the bowling honours with 13 wickets in the match for 104 runs, including 7 for 55 in the Hertfordshire second innings. For the losers, White took 7 wickets for 102 runs in the Lancashire innings.
[Missing: Toss; Hertfordshire Captain; in Lancashire inningss duration of Hartley's 123; precise time completed.]
Sources: Lancashire Recopied Scorebook; Manchester Guardian 23,24 August; Herts Advertiser 31 August; West Herts and Watford Observer 31 August; Hertfordshire Standard 30 August; Sporting Chronicle 23,24 August; The Sportsman 23,24 August.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive