Worcestershire v Glamorgan
Minor Counties Championship 1898
VenueCounty Ground, New Road, Worcester on 15th, 16th July 1898 (2-day match)
Balls per over5
TossWorcestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWorcestershire won by an innings and 113 runs
PointsWorcestershire 1; Glamorgan -1
UmpiresJ Phillips, VA Titchmarsh
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (2) 40/1 (Bancroft 25*, Thomas 13*)

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*HK Fosterb Creber0     
GE Bromley-Martinb R Lowe44     
EG Bromley-Martinb R Lowe8     
RE Fosterc JH Brain b S Lowe27     
WL Fosterc WH Brain b Letcher65     
GF Wheldonc WH Brain b Creber3     
FL Bowleyc WH Brain b S Lowe29     
A Birdc Bancroft b S Lowe19     
GA Wilsonc Hickley b Letcher1     
RD Burrowsrun out18     
+T Strawnot out4     
Extras(5 b, 5 lb, 2 nb, 3 w)15
Total(all out, 83.4 overs)233
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-13, 3-58, 4-126, 5-141, 6-164, 7-206, 8-207, 9-215, 10-233 (83.4 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Creber33   4882--
R Lowe13   236212
S Lowe16.435332-
Letcher21   7412--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VA Hickleyb Wilson1     
WJ Bancroftc RE Foster b Bird1     
HT Thomasc RE Foster b Bird1     
*JH Brainb Wilson1     
HB Letcherc RE Foster b Wilson0     
R Loweb Bird0     
+WH Brainb Wilson0     
HE Morganb Bird0     
HG Alexanderb Wilson10     
H Creberb Wilson7     
S Lowenot out1     
Extras(4 b, 5 lb)9
Total(all out, 18 overs)31
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-2, 3-4, 4-4, 5-5, 6-5, 7-9, 8-9, 9-30, 10-31 (18 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bird9   3124--
Wilson9   3106--

Glamorgan second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
VA Hickleyc RE Foster b Wilson0     
WJ Bancroftc HK Foster b Wilson39     
HT Thomasrun out13     
*JH Brainb Bird11     
HB Letcherb Wilson6     
R Loweb Wilson0     
+WH Brainlbw b Wilson1     
HE Morganb Bird5     
HG Alexandernot out2     
H Creberb Bird1     
S Lowelbw b Bird4     
Extras(4 b, 3 lb)7
Total(all out, 46.3 overs)89
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-40, 3-69, 4-69, 5-69, 6-76, 7-81, 8-81, 9-83, 10-89 (46.3 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wilson23   7475--
Burrows1   100--

--> WL Foster made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> HT Thomas made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> HG Alexander made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> VA Hickley made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> GA Wilson achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Glamorgan first innings (previous best was 3-53)
--> GA Wilson achieved his first five wickets in an innings in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Glamorgan first innings

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project
Worcestershire won this return match by an innings at 12.30 pm on the second day, after Glamorgan followed on 202 runs behind. The margin of victory was the third largest of the season. When the teams met in June at Cardiff, the match had been drawn. For the winners, Wilson took 11 wickets for 57 runs and there were 7 fours in W L Foster's 65. The Glamorgan first innings score of 31 was the lowest of the season. The eighth wicket fell when the score was just 9 runs. The main talking point after the first day of the match was R Lowe being no balled for throwing by umpire Titchmarsh, which gave rise to some adverse comment in the Welsh press. It was the first known instance in a championship match. With the agreement of the two captains, neutral umpires had been appointed for the match because at Cardiff there had been a disagreement between the umpires for that match - J Edge and D Harman -- about the time when play could resume after rain on the second day. Umpire Titchmarsh was quoted as saying "that he had no intimation from anyone to take particular notice of any player. It was when Lowe got his arm up full stretch that the throw took place".
[Missing: Complete]
Sources: Worcester Herald 23 July; South Wales Daily News 16,18 July; South Wales Echo 15,16 July; Western Mail 16,18 July.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive