Devon v Glamorgan
Minor Counties Championship 1901
VenueGras Lawn, Exeter on 30th, 31st August 1901 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultGlamorgan won by an innings and 68 runs
PointsDevon -1; Glamorgan 1
Close of play day 1Devon (1) 75/4 (Sandford 46*, Martin 1*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HE Morganc Orchard b Roles48     
AJ Osbornec Aston b Brutton40     
AWC Cameronc Vicary b Sandford6     
*JH Brainc Francis b Brutton31     
WJ Bancroftc Martin b Vicary33     
W Russellb Vicary49     
+WH Brainc Brutton b Rickman0     
R Lowec Sandford b Roles41     
NVH Richesc Brutton b Roles34     
H Creberc Vicary b Roles13     
S Lowenot out12     
Extras(14 b, 10 lb)24
Total(all out, 80.3 overs)331
Fall of wickets:
1-66, 2-87, 3-134, 4-139, 5-194, 6-194, 7-238, 8-278, 9-316, 10-331 (80.3 ov)
Devon bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Aston15   1580--
Vicary18   4472--
Sandford9   2291--
Brutton5   0172--
Rickman3   0221--
Francis2   200--

Devon first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TCG Sandfordc Bancroft b Cameron109     
LG Vicaryc R Lowe b S Lowe4     
HA Francisc JH Brain b S Lowe10     
JF Orchardc Morgan b S Lowe4     
EB Bruttonc Cameron b S Lowe3     
*JN Martinc JH Brain b S Lowe11     
EL Coplestonc JH Brain b S Lowe4     
WH Astonc Osborne b Creber31     
SN Mackenzierun out1     
RB Rickmanb Russell2     
RW Rolesnot out14     
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 2 w)10
Total(all out, 81.3 overs)203
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-47, 3-59, 4-63, 5-108, 6-120, 7-155, 8-161, 9-171, 10-203 (81.3 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
S Lowe32   10776--
Creber32   8751--
Russell12   5191--

Devon second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
TCG Sandfordc Morgan b S Lowe4     
EB Bruttonc Russell b Creber10     
EL Coplestonc Cameron b S Lowe3     
RB Rickmanst WH Brain b S Lowe0     
HA Francisb Creber2     
WH Astonb S Lowe5     
SN Mackenzieb S Lowe30     
JF Orchardb S Lowe3     
*JN Martinst WH Brain b Creber0     
RW Rolesst WH Brain b Creber2     
LG Vicarynot out1     
Total(all out, 32.2 overs)60
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-17, 3-17, 4-17, 5-22, 6-28, 7-56, 8-57, 9-57, 10-60 (32.2 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cameron2   060--
Russell1   100--
S Lowe15   10116--

--> Devon full substitute: SN Mackenzie for +T Davies
--> EL Copleston made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> RB Rickman made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> R Lowe made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> LG Vicary made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> EL Copleston made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> SN Mackenzie made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> SN Mackenzie (2) passed his previous highest score of 20 in Minor Counties Championship matches

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
After enforcing the follow on, Glamorgan won by an innings and 68 runs on the second day.
Glamorgan thus completed the double over Devon, having won at Swansea in July.
For the winners S Lowe took 12 wickets in the match for 88 runs.
Sandford's 109 for Devon included 14 fours, 3 threes and 3 twos.
In the Devon second innings, Mackenzie hit Creber for 26 runs in an over comprising 1 six and 5 fours.
The 3 stumpings in the Devon second innings equalled the Championship record.
The Glamorgan total of 331 was the highest without an individual fifty.
T Davies started the match as the Devon wicket-keeper, but shortly after the fall of the first Glamorgan wicket, he was badly injured by a ball from Aston and retired from the game.
The Glamorgan Captain agreed to him being replaced, with Mackenzie coming into the team, and Copleston took over the gloves.
[Missing: Time completed; Roles initials.]
Sources: Devon Scorebook; Western Daily Mercury 31 August, 2 September; Western Morning News 31 August 2 September; South Wales Daily News 31 August, 2 September; Western Mail 31 August, 2 September; The Sportsman 31 August, 2 September.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive