Surrey Second XI v Wiltshire
Minor Counties Championship 1908 (South Division)
VenueKennington Oval, Kennington on 10th, 11th August 1908 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn
PointsSurrey Second XI 0; Wiltshire 3
UmpiresR Head, TH Holton
Close of play day 1Surrey Second XI (1) 18/1 (Abel 8*, Davis 0*)

Wiltshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JE Stevensst Stedman b Davis49     
CS Awdryc Altham b Rushby95     
TCG Sandfordc Harrison b Smith29     
SJH Tauntonst Stedman b Smith49     
TTN Perkinsb Rushby1     
RW Awdryb Altham43     
AW Newmanc Jackson b Smith77     
+TS Lucec Harrison b Abel1     
*AM Millernot out59     
WRR Smithb Smith1     
T Smartb Davis14     
Extras(14 b, 4 lb, 4 nb)22
Total(all out, 104.3 overs)440
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-344, 7-?, 8-406, 9-?, 10-440 (104.3 ov)
Surrey Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rushby32   51202-4
Harrison4   0270--
Smith32   41124--
Jackson15   2600--
Altham5   0141--
Abel5   0221--

Surrey Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HS Althamb Smith9     
WJ Abelc Smart b Smith36     
WE Davisst Luce b Smith24     
HS Harrisonb Smart5     
JC Adamsc Smith b Sandford30     
HE Vigarc Taunton b Smart6     
*AWF Ruttyc Perkins b Sandford36     
+F Stedmanc Perkins b Smart17     
WC Smithb Smart22     
T Rushbyst Luce b Smart1     
MT Jacksonnot out10     
Extras(6 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)9
Total(all out, 59.1 overs)205
Fall of wickets:
1-14, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-205 (59.1 ov)
Wiltshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith23   4673-1
Miller5   1290--
Perkins3   0160--
Newman7   4110--
Sandford7   1292--

Surrey Second XI second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
HS Althamc Luce b Newman14     
WE Davisc Stevens b Sandford92     
WJ Abelc Taunton b Sandford20     
HS Harrisonc Luce b Perkins35     
JC Adamsnot out93     
HE Vigarlbw b Smart6     
*AWF Ruttyc Luce b Smart1     
+F Stedmanb Smart13     
WC Smithc CS Awdry b Sandford8     
T Rushbyc RW Awdry b Miller2     
MT Jacksonc CS Awdry b Miller14     
Extras(8 b, 4 lb, 1 nb, 3 w)16
Total(all out, 71.3 overs)314
Fall of wickets:
1-104, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-212, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-314 (71.3 ov)
Wiltshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith17   563021
Smart16   2653--
Sandford15   17931-
Newman11   4311--
Perkins4   1151--

--> JC Adams made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> F Stedman made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> WE Davis (2) passed 1500 runs in Minor Counties Championship matches when he reached 48
--> HS Harrison (2) passed his previous highest score of 28 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> TCG Sandford made his debut for Wiltshire in Minor Counties Championship matches

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Drawn return match with Wiltshire winning on first innings and enforcing the follow-on with Surrey 235 runs in arrears. The match between the two teams at Chippenham in July had been won by Wiltshire. For the visitors, there were 15 fours in C S Awdry's 95, 12 fours in Newman's 77, and 4 fives and 3 fours in Miller's 59 not out. Stevens and C S Awdry put on 148 for the first wicket,
scored in 70 minutes, before Awdry was hit on the elbow by a return stroke by his partner Stevens. For the home side, Adams's 93 not out contained 1 five and 14 fours and Davis's 92 1 six, 2 fives, and 14 fours, scored in just 45 minutes. Two of his hits were reported to have landed on the pavilion roof, and another two in the pavilion seats. In the Surrey second innings, Altham and Davis put on 104 runs in 45 minutes for the first wicket.
[Missing: Toss; part fall of wickets; large partnerships; in Surrey first innings bowler of no ball; in Surrey second innings batting order.]
Sources: Surrey Year Book 1908, p 117; Devizes and Wiltshire Gazette 13 August; North Wilts Herald 14 August; The Sportsman 11,12 August; Cricket 20 August, p 366.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive