Leicestershire v Somerset
County Championship 1920
VenueAylestone Road, Leicester on 26th, 28th, 29th June 1920 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSomerset won the toss and decided to field
ResultLeicestershire won by 47 runs
PointsLeicestershire 5; Somerset 0
UmpiresTA Brown, J Carlin
Close of play day 1Somerset (1) 134/5 (Daniell 37*, Foy 9*)
Close of play day 2Somerset (2) 74/5 (Rippon 31*, Spurway 2*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
H Whiteheadlbw b White17      
JW Middletonb Foy3      
A Mounteneyb White12      
JH Kingb Foy6      
WE Astillc Braund b White38      
S Coec Daniell b Bridges38      
*CJB Woodnot out32      
CLM Brownst +Spurway b White3      
AW Shipmanb White0      
WE Benskinc Bajana b Foy1      
+TE Sidwellc Spurway b Foy0      
Extras(11 b, 6 lb)17
Total(all out, 69 overs)167
Fall of wickets:
1-7 (Middleton), 2-28 (Mounteney), 3-49 (King), 4-49 (Whitehead), 5-112 (Coe), 6-134 (Astill), 7-138 (Brown), 8-150 (Shipman), 9-167 (Benskin), 10-167 (Sidwell, 69 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Foy14   2324--
Bridges15   3511--
White29   13585--
Robson11   690--

Somerset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AES Ripponc Sidwell b Shipman9      
MP Bajanab King33      
LC Braundb Shipman4      
+MD Lyonc Sidwell b Astill29      
*J Daniellst Sidwell b King40      
FE Spurwayb Benskin8      
PA Foyc Wood b King16      
CF Bishopb Astill3      
JC Whiteb Astill4      
E Robsonnot out9      
JJ Bridgesc Sidwell b Astill7      
Extras(4 b, 5 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(all out, 59.2 overs)172
Fall of wickets:
1-? (Rippon), 2-? (Braund), 3-48 (Bajana), 4-102 (Lyon), 5-? (Spurway), 6-134 (Daniell), 7-150 (Bishop), 8-154 (White), 9-163 (Foy), 10-172 (Bridges, 59.2 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Benskin8   0351--
Shipman8   1282--
King18   3553--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
H Whiteheadb Robson18      
*CJB Woodc White b Robson0      
A Mounteneyst Lyon b White11      
JH Kingc Lyon b Robson0      
WE Astillc and b Robson0      
S Coec Bajana b White28      
JW Middletonc Braund b White14      
CLM Brownc Bridges b White33      
AW Shipmanrun out6      
WE Benskinnot out12      
+TE Sidwelllbw b White14      
Extras(2 b, 3 lb, 1 w)6
Total(all out, 57.5 overs)142
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Wood), 2-27 (Mounteney), 3-28 (King), 4-29 (Whitehead), 5-30 (Astill), 6-66 (Coe), 7-81 (Middleton), 8-99 (Shipman), 9-115 (Brown), 10-142 (Sidwell, 57.5 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Robson21   8364--
Bridges8   03301-
Foy5   2100--

Somerset second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AES Ripponc Sidwell b Benskin31      
MP Bajanab Astill2      
LC Braundc Whitehead b Astill3      
+MD Lyonrun out7      
*J Daniellc Wood b Astill11      
E Robsonc and b Benskin7      
FE Spurwayrun out6      
PA Foyb Astill5      
CF Bishopnot out3      
JC Whiteb Astill2      
JJ Bridgesb Astill1      
Extras(9 b, 2 lb, 1 w)12
Total(all out, 58.3 overs)90
Fall of wickets:
1-? (Bajana), 2-12 (Braund), 3-25 (Lyon), 4-47 (Daniell), 5-69 (Robson), 6-75 (Rippon), 7-84 (Foy), 8-84 (Spurway), 9-87 (White), 10-90 (Bridges, 58.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
King20   11170--
Shipman4   150--
Benskin8   3162--

--> CLM Brown made his debut in County Championship matches
--> CLM Brown made his debut in first-class matches
--> J Daniell (1) passed 5500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 19
--> FE Spurway made his debut in County Championship matches
--> CF Bishop made his debut in County Championship matches
--> CF Bishop made his debut in first-class matches
--> AES Rippon (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 14
--> E Robson reached 950 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed H Whitehead, his 3rd wicket in the Leicestershire second innings
--> JC White reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when he dismissed CLM Brown, his 4th wicket in the Leicestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive