Skip to Main Content : Go to Main Menu
 Leicestershire County Cricket Club

The Leicestershire CCC Cricket Archive

Leicestershire in First-Class Matches in 1937

See Also Second XI Matches and Other Matches

Captain: CS Dempster
Portrait of Stewie Dempster
copyright © Leicestershire CCC
team picture
copyright © Leicestershire CCC
Home Grounds used:
Aylestone Road, Leicester; Ashby Road, Hinckley; Bath Grounds, Ashby-de-la-Zouch; Doncaster Close, Oakham School

Away Grounds visited:
County Ground, Northampton; Wagon Works Ground, Gloucester; Agricultural Showgrounds, Frome; Mitchell's and Butler's Ground, Birmingham; Town Ground, Worksop; The University Parks, Oxford; The Circle, Hull; County Ground, New Road, Worcester; The Nevill Ground, Tunbridge Wells; Queen's Park, Chesterfield; County Ground, Hove; May's Bounty, Basingstoke; Old Trafford, Manchester; Cardiff Arms Park, Cardiff

Championship playing record:
P 26     W 1     D 14     L 11

First-Class playing record:
P 28     W 1     D 15     L 12

Click on these links for the season's First-Class scorecards and results
or First-Class batting averages or First-Class bowling averages or Championship batting averages or Championship bowling averages

22 players appeared in First-Class matches for Leicestershire in 1937:
NF Armstrong; WE Astill; GL Berry; HB Bowley; P Corrall; GO Dawkes; CS Dempster; WH Flamson; G Geary; HC Graham; G Lester; H Mudge; MS Packe; FT Prentice; H Riley; JAT Sharp; HA Smith; J Sperry; JAS Taylor; AP Thompson; JE Walsh; GS Watson.

8 players made their debut for Leicestershire in these matches in 1937:
GO Dawkes; G Lester; H Mudge; JAT Sharp; J Sperry; JAS Taylor; AP Thompson; JE Walsh.

Go to Main Content : Go to Main Menu : Go to Top of Page