Brief profile of Viv Richards
by Dr.A.K.Hignell

Player:IVA Richards

Sir Viv Richards, the legendary West Indian batsman, was an integral member of Glamorgan`s side that won the AXA Sunday League in 1993. It came somewhat fittingly in his final season of county cricket, with the 41 year old West Indian excelling in the field as well as playing several cameo innings with the bat.


The presence of Richards had boosted the confidence of Hugh Morris` team and he helped the youngsters to believe in their abilities. Perhaps it was no coincidence that the 1990`s became the club`s most successful decade in both Championship cricket and limited overs games.


Richards played for the county in 1990, 1992 and 1993, and although in the twilight of his illustrious career, Viv scored 12 centuries in first-class and one day matches. His most prolific season was 1993 as he made an unbeaten 162 against Oxfordshire in the Nat West Trophy at Swansea, before sharing a partnership of 425 for the fourth wicket with Adrian Dale against Middlesex at Sophia Gardens whilst making an unbeaten 224. His score against Oxfordshire is still the highest individual innings in one day cricket for Glamorgan, whilst his partnership with Dale is still the highest for any wicket in the club`s history.


His finest innings in Glamorgan colours undoubtedly came in the Championship match at Southampton in 1990. Hampshire had set the Welsh county a target of 364 off 102 overs, and after slumping to 139-5 with 42 overs remaining, a Glamorgan victory looked out of the question. But the West Indian had other ideas, and with the support of Nigel Cowley and Colin Metson, Richards turned the game around in Glamorgan`s favour with a stunning and at times savage attack on the tiring Hampshire bowlers. In the final over Colin Metson scrambled a single off Malcolm Marshall`s first delivery, before Richards hit 4, 6 and 4 to see Glamorgan to victory with 2 balls to spare.


(Article: Copyright © 2003 Dr.A.K.Hignell)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2023 CricketArchive