Younis, Edwards lead ICC World T20 teams
by CricketArchive Staff reporter

Player:Younis Khan, CM Edwards
Event:ICC Women's World Twenty20 2009, ICC World Twenty20 2009

DateLine: 22nd June 2009


The ICC announced the teams of the tournament for the men's and women's ICC World Twenty20 2009 which finished at Lord's on Sunday.


According to an International Cricket Council release, the teams were chosen by a select group of experts who were given the task of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.


The men's team, including 12th man, contained four players from Pakistan, three each from South Africa and Sri Lanka and two from the West Indies while the women's team included five players from the winner, England, four from beaten finalists New Zealand and one each from Australia, India and Sri Lanka.


Both teams include the respective players of the tournament, Tillekeratne Dilshan of Sri Lanka and England's Claire Taylor.


The two teams (in batting order):


1. Chris Gayle (West Indies); 2. Tillekeratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka); 3. Jacques Kallis (South Africa); 4. AB de Villiers (South Africa); 5. Younis Khan (Pakistan, captain); 6. Dwayne Bravo (West Indies); 7. Shahid Afridi (Pakistan); 8. Kamran Akmal (Pakistan, wicketkeeper); 9. Wayne Parnell (South Africa); 10. Umar Gul (Pakistan); 11. Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka); 12th man: Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka).


Women: 1. Shelley Nitschke (Australia); 2. Charlotte Edwards (England, captain); 3. Claire Taylor (England); 4. Aimee Watkins (New Zealand); 5. Sarah Taylor (England, wicketkeeper); 6. Suzi Bates (New Zealand); 7. Lucy Doolan (New Zealand); 8. Rumeli Dhar (India); 9. Laura Marsh (England); 10. Holly Colvin (England); 11. Sian Ruck (New Zealand); 12th player: Eshani Kaushalya (Sri Lanka).


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2023 CricketArchive