Shane Warne unhappy over Strauss Bangladesh break
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:SK Warne, AJ Strauss
Event:England in Bangladesh 2009/10

DateLine: 10th February 2010


Australia great Shane Warne has accused Andrew Strauss of showing a "lack of respect for Test cricket" following the England captain's decision to opt out of the tour of Bangladesh.


Warne, speaking at Lord's here on Monday, said Strauss's absence for next month's two-Test series, when England are due to be captained by another opening batsman in Alastair Cook, would store up trouble for his side.


Strauss's place could be taken by Michael Carberry and after helping the 29-year-old revive his career when captain of Hampshire, leg-spin legend Warne said he would like nothing more than to see his former county colleague give the selectors a huge headache.


"I hope they are not taking Bangladesh too easy because they can be quite strong," Warne said.


"What if they (Bangladesh) win the first Test? Does Strauss fly out for the second? I hope it's not the start of a trend. It's a lack of respect for Test cricket.


"It's disappointing that the captain of England decides to have a rest from a Test series, I can't comprehend that. Any time you represent your country it's special and I cannot understand how you can rest your captain.


"Maybe a one-day game because you play 40 or 50 a year but you only play eight Test matches a year. It's special.


"He's got a style of captaincy and a new skipper can't be Andrew Strauss, he'll do it his way. So suddenly the players think 'how are we going to play under Alastair Cook?'"


Earlier, England fast bowler Stephen Harmison agreed Strauss, who led England in their recent 1-1 series draw away to South Africa, should tour Bangladesh.


"The captain should be there," the Durham quick told Sky Sports. "He was tired at the end of the South Africa tour but the other factor is he's England captain. Even if he got there two days before the first Test, the England captain should be there."


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive