Pakistan squad for England announced
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:Younis Khan, Yasir Hameed, Danish Kaneria
Event:Pakistan in England 2010

DateLine: 21st June 2010


The Pakistani selectors announced the Test and T20 squad for the English tour. The major surprise is that they left out former captain Younus Khan from their England touring squad.


The 33-year-old Younus was not selected despite his indefinite ban -- imposed in March over "infighting in the team" -- being lifted earlier this month. Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has not given clearance for his selection.


Pakistan announced two different squads for the Twenty20 matches and Tests on the upcoming tour of England. The 15-man Twenty20 squad includes Shoaib Akhtar but the express paceman was excluded from the 17-member Test squad.


Leg-spinner Danish Kaneria was included in the Test squad despite being under investigation by Essex Police on charges of spot fixing. He was, however, cleared by England and Wales Cricket Board to play.


Opener Yasir Hameed, who played the last of his 23 Tests in India three years ago, earned a recall in the absence of Younus and the retired Mohammad Yousuf.


Pakistan will play two Twenty20 internationals against Australia on July 5 and 6 before playing two Tests against the same opponents.


After playing Australia, Pakistan will feature in four Tests, two Twenty20 and five one-day games against England. The tour ends on September 22.


The squad for the one-dayers against England will be announced later.


Squad (T20): Shahid Afridi (capt), Salman Butt (vice capt), Shahzaib Hasan, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Amir, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Shoaib Akhtar, Abdul Rehman, Wahab Riaz, Fawad Alam


Squad (Tests): Shahid Afridi (capt), Salman Butt (vice capt), Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Azhar Ali, Umar Amin, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal, Zulqarnain Haider, Umar Gul, Mohammad Asif, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Tanveer Ahmed, Saeed Ajmal, Danish Kaneria


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive