Eagles pip Stallions at the winning post helped by penaties
by Asif Sohail

Scorecard:Lahore Eagles v Sialkot Stallions
Player:Imran Nazir, R Akram, Salman Butt, Waqas Ahmed
Event:ABN-AMRO Twenty-20 Cup 2004/05

DateLine: 26th April 2005


LAHORE, 26 April 2005: Lahore Eagles defeated Sialkot Stallions by 3 wickets in the ABN AMRO Twenty-20 Cup match at the Gaddafi Stadium here on Tuesday.


The Stallions won the toss and elected to bat first.


Imran Nazir demonstrated excellent stroke-play in his 19-ball thrilling innings in which he delighted the crowd with five towering sixes and six fours. After Imran was out at his individual score of 54, the Sialkot batsmen including star player Shoaib Malik, failed to match his kind of aggression as Sohail Ahmed and Ali Azmat effectively checked them.


The visitors were all out for 198 (adjusted to 210). They were awarded 12 runs as the Eagles had to bear a penalty after taking extra time to complete their 20 overs. Malik did score 39 off 36 balls but only hit one six and a four. Khalid Mahmood made 25 with the help of two sixes and one four.


The target of 211 was not easy for the Eagles as they lost two quick wickets at a total score of 17. Salman Butt played a captainís innings of 67 off 50 balls. He dispatched two sixes and seven fours.


Though Salman laid the foundation of his teamís victory, it was Waqas Ahmed who stole the show with his 25-ball thrilling innings of 46. He hit four sixes and two fours.


In the last over Ali Azmat and Khaqan Arsal added 18 runs to their teamís total of 203 for 7.


The Stallions were also penalized for not bowling the 20 overs in the stipulated 80 minutes time with the addition of 12 runs to the Eagles total taking it to 215. After a delay when the match ended with many fans thinking Stallions had won, the Lahore Eagles were declared winners. Waqas was declared Man of the Match.

(Article: The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author only.
Copyright © 2005 Asif Sohail)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive