Victoria v Marylebone Cricket Club
Marylebone Cricket Club in Australia and New Zealand 1922/23
VenueMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 17th, 18th, 20th November 1922 (3-day match)
Balls per over8
TossMarylebone Cricket Club won the toss and decided to bat
ResultVictoria won by 2 wickets
UmpiresRM Crockett, C Garing
Close of play day 1Victoria (1) 44/5 (Woodfull 11*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 100/2 (Titchmarsh 57*, Tyldesley 0*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Wilsonb Wallace9     
CH Titchmarshc Willis b Wallace11     
FSG Calthorpec Mayne b Wallace10     
WAC Wilkinsonc Hartkopf b Keating62     
APF Chapmanst Ellis b Hartkopf73     
DF Brandc Mayne b Hartkopf17     
*AC MacLarenc Ellis b Grimmett5     
CH Gibsonb Hartkopf2     
+JF MacLeannot out11     
H Tyldesleyst Ellis b Hartkopf4     
AP Freemanc Ransford b Hartkopf0     
Extras(3 b, 3 w)6
Total(all out, 202 minutes, 54.5 overs)210
Fall of wickets:
1-15, 2-23, 3-37, 4-143, 5-184, 6-191, 7-195, 8-199, 9-210, 10-210 (54.5 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wallace13   1643--
Keating12   23313-
Liddicut12   2410--
Grimmett11   0431--

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*ER Maynelbw b Gibson17     
RL Parkb Freeman11     
CB Willisc MacLaren b Gibson5     
WM Woodfullrun out (Chapman->MacLean)74     
+JL Ellisc Calthorpe b Gibson0     
AE Liddicutrun out (Freeman)0     
AEV Hartkopfc and b Freeman86     
VS Ransfordc MacLaren b Brand26     
JL Keatingc Chapman b Brand25     
CV Grimmettnot out18     
PH Wallaceb Tyldesley0     
Extras(14 b, 2 lb)16
Total(all out, 256 minutes, 83.3 overs)278
Fall of wickets:
1-24, 2-28, 3-44, 4-44, 5-44, 6-188, 7-220, 8-248, 9-278, 10-278 (83.3 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gibson23   4583--
Freeman23   4812--
Calthorpe14   1600--
Brand9   2332--
Chapman1   050--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CH Titchmarshc and b Hartkopf82     
WAC Wilkinsonc Willis b Hartkopf20     
FSG Calthorpeb Grimmett19     
H Tyldesleyb Hartkopf3     
APF Chapmanc Willis b Hartkopf69     
G Wilsonc Mayne b Hartkopf3     
DF Brandb Liddicut1     
*AC MacLarenc Mayne b Hartkopf0     
+JF MacLeanc Wallace b Hartkopf8     
CH Gibsonc and b Hartkopf11     
AP Freemannot out6     
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 1 w)9
Total(all out, 200 minutes, 50.6 overs)231
Fall of wickets:
1-61, 2-99, 3-122, 4-145, 5-149, 6-156, 7-157, 8-165, 9-206, 10-231 (50.6 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wallace14   05001-
Liddicut11   0411--
Keating4   1190--
Grimmett1   071--

Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*ER Maynec MacLean b Gibson15     
RL Parkb Tyldesley11     
CB Willisb Calthorpe60     
JL Keatingst MacLean b Calthorpe22     
VS Ransfordb Calthorpe15     
CV Grimmettc and b Brand5     
AE Liddicutc Chapman b Calthorpe1     
+JL Ellisb Tyldesley16     
AEV Hartkopfnot out14     
WM Woodfullnot out4     
PH Wallacedid not bat      
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(8 wickets, 150 minutes, 43.4 overs)164
Fall of wickets:
1-20, 2-36, 3-90, 4-124, 5-125, 6-127, 7-132, 8-159
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Freeman4   0160--
Tyldesley5   0212--
Calthorpe12   2414--
Brand8   3241--

--> AEV Hartkopf (1) passed his previous highest score of 77 in First-Class matches
--> JF MacLean made his debut in Australia in First-Class matches
--> AEV Hartkopf achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings (previous best was 5-86)
--> AEV Hartkopf achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club second innings (previous best was 5-23)

12th Men: WH Ponsford (Vic) and TC Lowry (MCC)
Crowds: 3948, 14054, 3372. Total: 21,374. Receipts: No figures published





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive