Australian XI v The Rest
Other First-Class matches in Australia 1926/27
VenueSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney on 18th, 19th, 21st, 22nd February 1927 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossThe Rest won the toss and decided to bat
ResultAustralian XI won by 7 wickets
UmpiresAC Jones, AP Williams
Close of play day 1Australian XI (1) 82/0 (Ponsford 47*, Woodfull 31*)
Close of play day 2The Rest (2) 32/0 (Morgan 20*, Richardson 10*)
Close of play day 3The Rest (2) 146/2 (Morgan 63*, Jackson 12*)

The Rest first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Morganc and b Andrews89     
+LPD O'Connorb Mailey5     
AF Kippaxc Ryder b Gregory100     
*VY Richardsonb Macartney36     
FC Thompsonc Mailey b Gregory0     
A Jacksonc Oldfield b Ryder4     
WC Alexanderst Oldfield b Mailey22     
NL Williamsc Ryder b Everett18     
SM Smithnot out13     
FL Mortonb Everett0     
RLA McNameeb Everett12     
Extras(3 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)6
Total(all out, 244 minutes, 70.1 overs)305
Fall of wickets:
1-32, 2-183, 3-215, 4-215, 5-224, 6-248, 7-271, 8-275, 9-275, 10-305 (70.1 ov)
Australian XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gregory10   1502--
Mailey22   29921-
Ryder8   0501--
Macartney15   6251--
Andrews5   0261--

Australian XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WH Ponsfordc McNamee b Williams131     
WM Woodfullc Richardson b McNamee140     
JM Taylorlbw b Williams0     
TJE Andrewsnot out115     
CG Macartneyst O'Connor b Williams26     
J Ryderc Richardson b Williams14     
JM Gregoryc Jackson b Williams44     
*W Bardsleyc O'Connor b Smith7     
+WAS Oldfieldc Morgan b Morton13     
CS Everettc Thompson b McNamee26     
AA Maileyst O'Connor b Williams12     
Extras(1 b, 4 lb)5
Total(all out, 304 minutes, 83.4 overs)533
Fall of wickets:
1-223, 2-223, 3-283, 4-324, 5-344, 6-427, 7-435, 8-458, 9-519, 10-533 (83.4 ov)
The Rest bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Morton18   11101--
McNamee24   11222--
Smith10   0621--
Morgan5   0230--
Kippax6   0370--

The Rest second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Morganc Woodfull b Gregory73     
*VY Richardsonc Gregory b Mailey16     
AF Kippaxc Woodfull b Everett51     
A Jacksonc and b Mailey32     
WC Alexanderc and b Mailey9     
FC Thompsonc Everett b Mailey12     
+LPD O'Connorc Ponsford b Mailey101     
NL Williamsc Ponsford b Ryder0     
SM Smithc Oldfield b Everett25     
RLA McNameec Ryder b Mailey14     
FL Mortonnot out1     
Extras(2 b, 4 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)10
Total(all out, 323 minutes, 95.6 overs)344
Fall of wickets:
1-44, 2-115, 3-159, 4-174, 5-197, 6-198, 7-203, 8-300, 9-338, 10-344 (95.6 ov)
Australian XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gregory15   04911-
Ryder13   1401--
Everett18   1762-3
Macartney18   5360--
Andrews7   1340--

Australian XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WH Ponsfordb McNamee7     
CG Macartneyb McNamee19     
TJE Andrewsc Richardson b McNamee2     
J Rydernot out55     
WM Woodfullnot out29     
JM Taylordid not bat      
JM Gregorydid not bat      
*W Bardsleydid not bat      
+WAS Oldfielddid not bat      
CS Everettdid not bat      
AA Maileydid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 1 lb)5
Total(3 wickets, 75 minutes, 20.4 overs)117
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-21, 3-28
The Rest bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Morton4   0210--
McNamee7   1463--
Thompson4   0130--
Morgan3   0210--

--> SM Smith made his debut in First-Class matches
--> SM Smith made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> JM Taylor made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> W Bardsley made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> LPD O'Connor (2) passed 2000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 31
--> AF Kippax (2) passed 1000 runs in First-Class matches for the season when he reached 12
--> A Jackson (2) passed 500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 32
--> RLA McNamee (2) passed his previous highest score of 12 in First-Class matches
--> AA Mailey reached 750 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 5th wicket in the The Rest second innings

12th Men: JL Ellis (Aust) and NE Phillips (Rest)
Crowds: 8963, 27684, 1000, 3000. Total: 40,647. Receipts: 2634 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive