Western Australia v South Australia
Other First-Class matches in Australia 1939/40
VenueWestern Australia Cricket Association Ground, Perth on 10th, 12th, 13th February 1940 (3-day match)
Balls per over8
TossSouth Australia won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresJP Robbins, MJ Troy
Close of play day 1Western Australia (1) 7/0 (MacGill 4*, JA Jeffreys 3*)
Close of play day 2South Australia (2) 1/0 (Walker 0*, Ward 0*)

South Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
KL Ridingsc Bandy b Halcombe46     
TE Kloseb MacGill6     
RA Hamencec Lovelock b Eyres3     
*DG Bradmanc Lovelock b MacGill42     
L Michaelc Eyres b MacGill5     
MG Waitelbw b MacGill37     
VR Gibsonc JA Jeffreys b Zimbulis35     
JM Kiersec JA Jeffreys b Watt23     
FA Wardc KS Jeffreys b Halcombe15     
CV Grimmettc Inverarity b Zimbulis14     
+CW Walkernot out2     
Extras(16 b, 2 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)20
Total(all out, 284 minutes, 67.1 overs)248
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-28, 3-97, 4-103, 5-115, 6-155, 7-200, 8-227, 9-227, 10-248 (67.1 ov)
Western Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Eyres22   2811-1
MacGill18   14941-
Halcombe13   1512--
Watt3   161--
Barras2   150--

Western Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CWT MacGillc Ward b Grimmett78     
JA Jeffreysc Klose b Ward36     
ADW Wattst Walker b Ward18     
AEO Barraslbw b Klose11     
LH Bandyc Klose b Ward1     
KS Jeffreysst Walker b Ward7     
*M Inverarityst Walker b Ward57     
+OI Lovelockb Grimmett13     
AG Zimbulisnot out42     
G Eyresc Ward b Grimmett9     
RA Halcombeb Ward2     
Extras(1 b)1
Total(all out, 288 minutes, 92.3 overs)275
Fall of wickets:
1-69, 2-91, 3-123, 4-135, 5-151, 6-153, 7-188, 8-252, 9-265, 10-275 (92.3 ov)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Waite8   1260--
Kierse3   160--
Grimmett33   8943--
Klose10   2181--
Gibson12   3250--

South Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+CW Walkerc Inverarity b Zimbulis34     
FA Wardb Eyres12     
*DG Bradmannot out209 161301 
RA Hamencec and b Eyres14     
L Michaelnot out27     
KL Ridingsdid not bat      
TE Klosedid not bat      
MG Waitedid not bat      
VR Gibsondid not bat      
JM Kiersedid not bat      
CV Grimmettdid not bat      
Extras(9 b, 1 lb)10
Total(3 wickets, declared, 175 minutes, 51 overs)306
Fall of wickets:
1-25, 2-83, 3-135
Western Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Eyres16   2652--
MacGill15   3660--
Zimbulis5   0501--
Halcombe9   0590--
Barras4   0280--
KS Jeffreys2   0280--

Western Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CWT MacGillrun out (Waite)11     
JA Jeffreysc Bradman b Kierse8     
ADW Wattb Ridings52     
LH Bandynot out20     
KS Jeffreysnot out27     
AEO Barrasdid not bat      
*M Inveraritydid not bat      
+OI Lovelockdid not bat      
AG Zimbulisdid not bat      
G Eyresdid not bat      
RA Halcombedid not bat      
Extras(3 lb)3
Total(3 wickets, 105 minutes, 35 overs)121
Fall of wickets:
1-15, 2-26, 3-91
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kierse7   2191--
Gibson7   1210--
Grimmett4   0260--
Ward7   1320--
Ridings4   0121--
Klose6   480--

--> L Michael made his debut in first-class matches
--> VR Gibson made his debut in first-class matches
--> JM Kierse made his debut in first-class matches
--> LH Bandy made his debut in first-class matches
--> JM Kierse made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> JA Jeffreys made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> RA Halcombe made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> CWT MacGill (1) passed his previous highest score of 48 in first-class matches
--> JA Jeffreys (1) passed his previous highest score of 27 in first-class matches
--> AG Zimbulis (1) passed his previous highest score of 33 in first-class matches
--> DG Bradman (2) passed 22500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 26
--> CV Grimmett reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Western Australia first innings

12th Men: AE Read (WA) and FL Teisseire (SA)
Crowds: 8000, 2770, 3000. Total: 13,770. Receipts: 754 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive