WSC Australia v WSC World XI
World Series Cricket Other Matches 1978/79 (Fill-up Match)
VenueBrisbane Cricket Ground, Woolloongabba, Brisbane on 1st January 1979 (50-over match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultWSC World XI won by 7 wickets
UmpiresPR Enright, C Hoy

WSC Australia inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
IC Davisc Procter b Underwood27     
GS Chappellb Underwood43     
IR Redpathc Haroon Rasheed b Underwood6     
TM Chappellc Javed Miandad b Rice21     
DW Hookesb Underwood3     
*IM Chappellc Haroon Rasheed b Greig10     
+RW Marshc Javed Miandad b Rice0     
MF Malonenot out0     
RJ Brightdid not bat      
MHN Walkerdid not bat      
W Priordid not bat      
Total(7 wickets, innings closed, 25 overs)122
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-122 (25 ov)
WSC World XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Imran Khan5   1130---2.60
Sarfraz Nawaz5   0270---5.40
Procter5   0180---3.60
Underwood5   0264--7.505.20
Rice3   0142--9.004.67
Greig2   0121--12.006.00

WSC World XI inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
Zaheer Abbasc Marsh b Prior28     
*AW Greigc GS Chappell b Bright18     
Haroon Rasheedc and b GS Chappell46     
Imran Khannot out12     
Asif Iqbalnot out18     
CEB Ricedid not bat      
Javed Miandaddid not bat      
MJ Procterdid not bat      
+APE Knottdid not bat      
DL Underwooddid not bat      
Sarfraz Nawazdid not bat      
Total(3 wickets, 24.3 overs)123
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?
WSC Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Walker5   0230---4.60
Malone5   0250---5.00
Prior5   0301--30.006.00
GS Chappell5   1271--30.005.40

--> The match was reduced before play started to 25 overs per side

Attendance: 8,000
Due to the early finish of the scheduled match a twenty-five over game was arranged to provide entertainment for the remaining spectators, many having already drifted away. IC Davis replaced Wessels in the Australian team while for the World XI Underwood came in for le Roux.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive