Essex Second XI v Sussex Second XI
Second Eleven Championship 1979
VenueMetropolitan Police Sports Ground, Chigwell on 11th, 12th June 1979 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSussex Second XI won the toss and decided to field
ResultSussex Second XI won by 6 wickets (single innings match)
PointsEssex Second XI 0; Sussex Second XI 10
UmpiresKD Turnham, W Whitehead
Close of play day 1Essex Second XI (1) 71/0

Essex Second XI inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+AW Lilleyc Storey b Cheatle63     
D Hughesc Head b Wells9     
KR Pontb Cheatle1     
R Herbertc Head b Cheatle20     
C Gladwinb Wells33     
GC Stephensonc Green b Hoadley10     
SJ Masonc Hoadley b Hayward10     
GE Sainsburyb Cheatle8     
SJ Malonec and b Cheatle0     
GR Hughesnot out0     
*B Taylordid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 1 nb)5
Total(9 wickets, declared, 72.4 overs)159
Fall of wickets:
1-72 (D Hughes), 2-73 (Pont), 3-78 (Lilley), 4-101 (Herbert), 5-115 (Stephenson), 6-132 (Mason), 7-159 (Sainsbury), 8-159 (Malone), 9-159 (Gladwin)
Sussex Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Fletcher7   3150--
Carter10   3170-1
Cheatle19   15355--
Hoadley9   0401--
Hayward10   4211--

Sussex Second XI inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
KB Smithc Malone b Herbert62     
SP Hoadleyc Sainsbury b Pont10     
+TJ Headb Malone4     
CM Wellsnot out50     
*SJ Storeylbw b Sainsbury7     
RGL Cheatlenot out15     
AM Greendid not bat      
A Smithdid not bat      
J Haywarddid not bat      
MC Carterdid not bat      
CDB Fletcherdid not bat      
Extras(7 b, 7 lb)14
Total(4 wickets, 56.1 overs)162
Fall of wickets:
1-36 (Hoadley), 2-55 (Head), 3-98 (KB Smith), 4-119 (Storey)
Essex Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sainsbury14   2331--
Herbert15   5261--
Pont6   1161--
Mason8   0340--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs

The start was delayed by a wet pitch until 5.30pm. The match was reduced to a single innings per side.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive