Essex v Middlesex
County Championship 1895
VenueCounty Ground, Leyton on 27th, 28th, 29th May 1895 (3-day match)
Balls per over5
TossEssex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMiddlesex won by 5 wickets
PointsEssex -1; Middlesex 1
UmpiresJ Lillywhite, JJ Tuck
Close of play day 1Middlesex (1) 74/4 (Vernon 17*, MacGregor 12*)
Close of play day 2Middlesex (2) 7/1 (Hayman 0*, MacGregor 6*)

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*HGP Owenb Rawlin21     
HA Carpenterc MacGregor b Rawlin40     
CP McGaheyc Stoddart b Hearne2     
GF Higginsb Hearne0     
J Burnsb Rawlin62     
H Haileyretired hurt0     
CJ Kortrightb Hearne7     
+TM Russellnot out29     
W Meadb Rawlin0     
FG Bullrun out7     
H Pickettb Hearne35     
Extras(14 b, 3 lb)17
Total(all out, 113.1 overs)220
Fall of wickets:
1-39, 2-52, 3-52, 4-88, 5-139, 6-145, 7-147, 8-170, 9-220 (113.1 ov)
Middlesex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rawlin49   23704--
Stoddart6   1130--
Thornton11   4180--
Phillips2   140--

Middlesex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AE Stoddartb Mead0     
*AJ Webbec Higgins b Mead10     
HB Haymanb Mead20     
RS Lucasc Russell b Kortright5     
GF Vernonb Kortright36     
+G MacGregorc Russell b Mead16     
JT Rawlinst Russell b Mead2     
J Phillipsc and b Mead27     
H Philipsonb Kortright5     
G Thorntonnot out41     
JT Hearnec Pickett b Mead4     
Extras(18 b, 18 lb)36
Total(all out, 91.3 overs)202
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-27, 3-40, 4-40, 5-80, 6-86, 7-106, 8-112, 9-190, 10-202 (91.3 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kortright31   11563--
Pickett16   7150--
Bull4   070--

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*HGP Owenb Hearne11     
HA Carpenterc Rawlin b Phillips41     
CP McGaheyc Rawlin b Hearne33     
GF Higginsb Thornton17     
J Burnsc Stoddart b Phillips6     
+TM Russellb Phillips0     
CJ Kortrightb Hearne1     
H Haileyb Hearne10     
W Meadb Rawlin23     
FG Bullnot out13     
H Pickettb Hearne1     
Extras(13 b, 5 lb)18
Total(all out, 76.1 overs)174
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-82, 3-91, 4-122, 5-123, 6-125, 7-128, 8-151, 9-171, 10-174 (76.1 ov)
Middlesex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rawlin22   4481--
Thornton9   0271--
Phillips15   3393--

Middlesex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+G MacGregorb Pickett33     
J Phillipsb Mead1     
HB Haymanb Mead0     
AE Stoddartb Pickett67     
JT Rawlinnot out54     
RS Lucasb Pickett25     
GF Vernonnot out6     
*AJ Webbedid not bat      
H Philipsondid not bat      
G Thorntondid not bat      
JT Hearnedid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 4 lb)9
Total(5 wickets, 68.3 overs)195
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-11, 3-57, 4-127, 5-175
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kortright11   1360--
Pickett23   13373--
Bull4   1220--

--> H Philipson made his debut in County Championship matches
--> TM Russell (1) passed his previous highest score of 16 in County Championship matches
--> H Pickett (1) passed his previous highest score of 31 in First-Class matches
--> GF Vernon (1) passed his previous highest score of 18 in County Championship matches
--> GF Vernon (1) passed 6500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 28
--> G Thornton (1) passed his previous highest score of 16 in County Championship matches
--> G Thornton (1) passed his previous highest score of 16 in First-Class matches
--> CP McGahey (2) passed his previous highest score of 21 in County Championship matches
--> CP McGahey (2) passed his previous highest score of 24 in First-Class matches
--> H Philipson made his debut for Middlesex in First-Class matches
--> W Mead reached 150 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 6th wicket in the Middlesex first innings
--> W Mead achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Middlesex first innings (previous best was 3-87)
--> W Mead achieved his first five wickets in an innings in County Championship matches in the Middlesex first innings
--> H Hailey retired hurt in the Essex first innings having scored 0 (team had lost 4 wickets)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive