Essex v Derbyshire
County Championship 1900
VenueCounty Ground, Leyton on 28th, 29th, 30th June 1900 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEssex won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresA Shaw, W Wright
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 424/5 (Storer 136*, Foulke 39*)
Close of play day 2Essex (1) 273/4 (McGahey 59*, Kortright 37*)

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LG Wrightc Young b Kortright170     
H Bagshawc Kortright b Mead55     
W Storerc Russell b Buckenham176     
W Chattertonb Buckenham4     
W Suggc Russell b Kortright17     
JJ Hulmec and b Kortright0     
WH Foulkest Russell b Mead53     
JH Youngc Carpenter b Reeves2     
*WB Delacombec and b Reeves4     
+J Humphriesc Russell b Buckenham11     
W Bestwicknot out0     
Extras(8 b, 7 lb, 1 nb)16
Total(all out, 150.2 overs)508
Fall of wickets:
1-137, 2-335, 3-344, 4-369, 5-369, 6-453, 7-461, 8-487, 9-507, 10-508 (150.2 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kortright30   7963--
Mead32   8922-1
Young30   6770--
Carpenter7   1300--
Reeves23   3782--
McGahey3   0170--
Inns5   1150--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HA Carpenterc Sugg b Hulme112     
CP Buckenhamb Hulme35     
PA Perrinb Young16     
CP McGaheyc Young b Bestwick122     
*AP Lucasc Wright b Hulme0     
CJ Kortrightb Hulme43     
+AE Russellb Bestwick15     
W Reevesc Wright b Bestwick0     
JH Innsb Hulme0     
HI Youngc sub b Bestwick3     
W Meadnot out5     
Extras(9 b, 5 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)17
Total(all out, 141.2 overs)368
Fall of wickets:
1-67, 2-107, 3-206, 4-206, 5-285, 6-344, 7-344, 8-345, 9-363, 10-368 (141.2 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hulme56   141255--
Bagshaw29   6680--
Young20   748121

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JH Youngb Mead0     
+J Humphriesnot out0     
LG Wrightdid not bat      
H Bagshawdid not bat      
W Storerdid not bat      
W Chattertondid not bat      
W Suggdid not bat      
JJ Hulmedid not bat      
WH Foulkedid not bat      
*WB Delacombedid not bat      
W Bestwickdid not bat      
Total(1 wicket, declared, 0.2 overs)0
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Young, 0.2 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HA Carpenterb Storer17     
CP Buckenhamb Bestwick2     
PA Perrinnot out14     
CP McGaheydid not bat      
*AP Lucasdid not bat      
CJ Kortrightdid not bat      
+AE Russelldid not bat      
W Reevesdid not bat      
JH Innsdid not bat      
HI Youngdid not bat      
W Meaddid not bat      
Extras(2 b)2
Total(2 wickets, 21.2 overs)35
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-35 (21.2 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hulme11   4200--
Bestwick9   3121--

--> WH Foulke made his debut in County Championship matches
--> WH Foulke made his debut in First-Class matches
--> WB Delacombe made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> WB Delacombe made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> LG Wright scored a hundred batting with a runner in the Derbyshire first innings
--> LG Wright (1) passed his previous highest score of 138 in County Championship matches
--> LG Wright (1) passed his previous highest score of 138 in First-Class matches
--> LG Wright (1) passed 4000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 168
--> LG Wright (1) passed 5000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 100
--> HA Carpenter (2) passed 1000 runs in First-Class matches for the season when he reached 9
--> CP Buckenham achieved his best innings bowling analysis in First-Class matches in the Derbyshire first innings (previous best was 2-52)
--> CP Buckenham achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Derbyshire first innings (previous best was 2-52)

Wright's 170 took 245 minutes and included 18 fours. Storer scored 19 fours in his 176 made in 300 minutes. Carpenter's 112 took 180 minutes and included 14 fours. Play did not start until three o'clock on the third day. Derbyshire wished to forfeit their second innings, but were forced to bat and declared when Young was out second ball





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive