Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe
ICC World Cup 1999 (Group A)
VenueCounty Ground, New Road, Worcester on 22nd May 1999 (50-over match)
Balls per over6
TossSri Lanka won the toss and decided to field
ResultSri Lanka won by 4 wickets
PointsSri Lanka 2; Zimbabwe 0
UmpiresSA Bucknor, DR Shepherd
TV umpireMJ Kitchen
RefereeTalat Ali
ScorersLB Hewes (Sri Lanka), M Snook (Zimbabwe)
Man of the MatchMS Atapattu

Zimbabwe inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
NC Johnsonc Wickramasinghe b Upashantha817361-47.06
GW Flowerc Kaluwitharana b Wickramasinghe42691006-60.87
PA Strangb Wickramasinghe58121-62.50
MW Goodwinrun out (Jayasuriya->Muralitharan)2129392-72.41
+A Flowerc Kaluwitharana b Jayasuriya4160803-68.33
*ADR Campbellc Kaluwitharana b Wickramasinghe6871-75.00
GJ Whittallc Ranatunga b Muralitharan41191-36.36
SV Carlislerun out (Vaas->Jayasuriya)2736521175.00
HH Streakc Atapattu b Muralitharan102323--43.48
EA Brandesnot out1929351165.52
HK Olonganot out510111-50.00
Extras(3 lb, 6 w)9
Total(9 wickets, innings closed, 50 overs)197
Fall of wickets:
1-21 (Johnson, 7.3 ov), 2-34 (Strang, 10.5 ov), 3-78 (Goodwin, 19.2 ov), 4-81 (GW Flower, 20.4 ov), 5-89 (Campbell, 22.4 ov), 6-94 (Whittall, 25.5 ov), 7-162 (Carlisle, 39.3 ov), 8-162 (A Flower, 39.4 ov), 9-176 (Streak, 46.6 ov)
Sri Lanka bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Vaas10   14701--4.70
Upashantha10   14314-60.004.30
Wickramasinghe10   1303--20.003.00
Jayawardene1   080---8.00
Muralitharan10   22921-30.002.90
Jayasuriya7   0281--42.004.00
de Silva2   090---4.50

Sri Lanka inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
ST Jayasuriyac Goodwin b Johnson61722--35.29
RS Mahanamab Whittall3164843-48.44
MS Atapattuc Campbell b Streak54901414-60.00
PA de Silvac sub (AR Whittall) b Whittall61525--40.00
*A Ranatungac and b Whittall31218--25.00
DPMD Jayawardenelbw b Streak3136404-86.11
+RS Kaluwitharananot out1830432-60.00
WPUJC Vaasnot out1717322-100.00
KEA Upashanthadid not bat      
GP Wickramasinghedid not bat      
M Muralitharandid not bat      
Extras(6 lb, 5 nb, 21 w)32
Total(6 wickets, 46 overs)198
Fall of wickets:
1-13 (Jayasuriya, 5.4 ov), 2-75 (Mahanama, 19.1 ov), 3-93 (de Silva, 25.2 ov), 4-108 (Ranatunga, 29.2 ov), 5-150 (Atapattu, 36.3 ov), 6-157 (Jayawardene, 38.5 ov)
Zimbabwe bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Brandes8   02802--3.50
Johnson7   12915-42.004.14
Streak8   13026-24.003.75
Whittall10   13532120.003.50
Olonga9   050034-5.56
GW Flower2   0100---5.00
Strang2   0100---5.00

--> EA Brandes made his last appearance in World Cup matches
--> MW Goodwin passed his previous highest score of 17 in World Cup matches
--> MS Atapattu 50 in 83 balls with 4 fours
--> DPMD Jayawardene passed his previous highest score of 22 in World Cup matches
--> RS Kaluwitharana passed 2000 runs in ODI matches when he reached 8
--> RS Kaluwitharana passed 2500 runs in List A matches when he reached 14
--> GP Wickramasinghe achieved his best innings bowling analysis in World Cup matches when he dismissed ADR Campbell in the Zimbabwe innings (previous best was 2-29)
--> GJ Whittall achieved his best innings bowling analysis in ODI matches in the Sri Lanka innings (previous best was 3-43)
--> GJ Whittall achieved his best innings bowling analysis in World Cup matches when he dismissed PA de Silva in the Sri Lanka innings (previous best was 1-26)

4th (reserve) umpire: WB Smith (Scot)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2023 CricketArchive