Bedfordshire v Buckinghamshire
Minor Counties Championship 1906
VenueWardown Park, Luton on 6th, 7th August 1906 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossBuckinghamshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultBedfordshire won by 10 wickets
PointsBedfordshire 3; Buckinghamshire 0
UmpiresC Marshall, J Stevens
Close of play day 1Buckinghamshire (2) 15/1 (Gresson 1*, Perry 7*)

Buckinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*CRH Gressonc Peel b Morcom0     
E Weaver-Adamsc Jeakings b Morcom4     
RW Ortonc Pollitt b Morcom19     
FN Birdc Rice b Morcom12     
MW Wrightb Morcom7     
T Gibbsb Morcom1     
GM Faulknerc Morcom b Orr16     
JT Parryb Morcom0     
+SAB Perrynot out13     
T Staceyb Morcom4     
SJA Vickerstaffc Pollitt b Wharmby13     
Extras(? b, 0 lb, 2 nb, 0 w)12
Total(all out, 42 overs)101
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-5, 3-21, 4-37, 5-43, 6-54, 7-54, 8-80, 9-86, 10-101 (42 ov)
Bedfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown7   1190--
Morcom21   6428-2
Orr2   171--
Wharmby12   4211--

Bedfordshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RW Ricelbw b Faulkner22     
G Pollittb Faulkner6     
BL Peelc Stacey b Vickerstaff58     
GE Wharmbyc Gresson b Vickerstaff25     
LCR Thringc Gibbs b Vickerstaff52     
*HR Orrc Bird b Stacey4     
TA Brownc Orton b Vickerstaff57     
HF Holdstockb Wright13     
AF Morcomb Vickerstaff13     
F Taylorc and b Wright7     
+WR Jeakingsnot out0     
Total(all out, 66 overs)276
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-75, 3-120, 4-?, 5-148, 6-212, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-276 (66 ov)
Buckinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Faulkner10   0502--
Vickerstaff24   3665--
Stacey10   0631--
Wright22   5782--

Buckinghamshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*CRH Gressonc Jeakings b Peel31     
E Weaver-Adamsb Wharmby3     
+SAB Perryc Morcom b Peel34     
RW Ortonc Jeakings b Peel16     
FN Birdc Rice b Peel16     
MW Wrightc Rice b Peel7     
T Staceyc Peel b Orr20     
GM Faulknerb Orr7     
T Gibbsst Jeakings b Peel31     
JT Parryc and b Orr20     
SJA Vickerstaffnot out3     
Total(all out, 76.2 overs)206
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-69, 3-86, 4-99, 5-122, 6-131, 7-147, 8-154, 9-198, 10-206 (76.2 ov)
Bedfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Morcom16   6160--
Wharmby17   9241--
Peel22   4766--
Brown11   2160--

Bedfordshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AF Morcomnot out11     
F Taylornot out16     
RW Ricedid not bat      
G Pollittdid not bat      
BL Peeldid not bat      
GE Wharmbydid not bat      
LCR Thringdid not bat      
*HR Orrdid not bat      
TA Browndid not bat      
HF Holdstockdid not bat      
+WR Jeakingsdid not bat      
Total(no wicket, 8.4 overs)34
Buckinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Vickerstaff2   0100--
Stacey2   140--
Wright2   140--

--> JT Parry made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> AF Morcom achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Buckinghamshire first innings (previous best was 5-13)

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Bedfordshire won this match at 3.45 pm on the second day. For the winners, Peel scored 58 with 8 fours, Brown 57 and Thring 52. In the Buckinghamshire first innings Morcom took 8 wickets for 42 runs. For the losers Perry top scored with 34. Attendance on the first day, which was the August Bank Holiday Monday, numbered over 3,000 and receipts were over 40.
[Missing: Extras breakdown; in Bedfordshire first innings boundaries in Brown's 57 and Thring's 52, and fall of fourth and seventh to ninth wickets.]
Sources: Bucks Advertiser 11 August; Bucks Examiner 10 August; Bucks Herald 11 August; South Bucks Free Press 10 August; South Bucks Standard 10 August; Wolverton Express 10 August; Bedfordshire Advertiser 10 August; Bedfordshire Standard 10 August; Luton Reporter 10 August ; The Sportsman 7,8 August; Cricketer and Football Player 16 August, p 6; Cricket 9 August, p 326.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive