Cambridgeshire v Hertfordshire
Minor Counties Championship 1912
VenueFP Fenner's Ground, Cambridge on 2nd, 3rd August 1912 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossCambridgeshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultHertfordshire won by 10 wickets
PointsCambridgeshire 0; Hertfordshire 5
UmpiresAC McArthur, GJ Rye
Close of play day 1Hertfordshire (1) 219/3 (Titchmarsh 36*, Gibson 36*)

Cambridgeshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WE Constablec Titchmarsh b Coleman0     
EB Darbyc Shelford b Coleman5     
CH Piggc Household b Burton39     
*HC Tebbuttb Coleman108     
+GH Wattsc Titchmarsh b Burton33     
FW Bryanst Petrie b Marsh14     
HB Hartb Coleman13     
FPC Pembertonrun out15     
GA Rosec Gibson b Marsh15     
H Coulsonc Anderson b Coleman1     
J O'Connornot out4     
Total(all out, 66.2 overs)256
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-14, 3-78, 4-179, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-256 (66.2 ov)
Hertfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Burton19   1672--
Shelford9   3410--
Marsh11   0522--
Household3   0220--

Hertfordshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RC Grelletc Tebbutt b Coulson74     
AJ Goldingb Coulson41     
ES Householdc Tebbutt b Bryan15     
CH Titchmarshc sub b Coulson51     
AK Gibsonb Coulson39     
JO Andersonb Tebbutt32     
WE Colemanb Coulson10     
*WH Marshb Coulson34     
+AR Petriec Watts b Rose24     
W Shelfordnot out7     
FA Burtonb Rose7     
Total(all out, 104 overs)361
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-361 (104 ov)
Cambridgeshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Coulson34   8636--
Rose22   5962--
Tebbutt8   4301--
O'Connor16   4380--
Pigg3   1110--
Bryan18   2871--
Constable3   090--

Cambridgeshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WE Constablec Marsh b Coleman0     
EB Darbylbw b Shelford10     
CH Piggb Coleman38     
*HC Tebbuttb Shelford10     
+GH Wattsb Coleman1     
FW Bryanb Shelford0     
HB Hartc Titchmarsh b Coleman3     
FPC Pembertonb Coleman19     
GA Rosenot out34     
H Coulsonb Shelford4     
J O'Connorb Shelford10     
Total(all out, 41.3 overs)133
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-133 (41.3 ov)
Hertfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Coleman21   7675--
Burton7   2150--

Hertfordshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RC Grelletnot out13     
AJ Goldingnot out17     
ES Householddid not bat      
CH Titchmarshdid not bat      
AK Gibsondid not bat      
JO Andersondid not bat      
WE Colemandid not bat      
*WH Marshdid not bat      
+AR Petriedid not bat      
W Shelforddid not bat      
FA Burtondid not bat      
Total(no wicket, 8.4 overs)32
Cambridgeshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
O'Connor4   080--

--> AR Petrie made his debut in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> AR Petrie made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> FPC Pemberton (2) passed his previous highest score of 15 in Minor Counties Championship matches

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Hertfordshire won this match by ten wickets on the second day. For the winners, Coleman took 10 wickets in the match for 132 runs. Grellet scored 74 and Titchmarsh 51. For the losers, Tebbutt scored 108. In the Cambridgeshire first innings, Tebbutt and Watts added 101 runs for the fourth wicket. In the Hertfordshire first innings, Coulson took 6 wickets for 63 runs. In the Hertfordshire second innings, some sources state Tebbutt bowled and others Rose, but the averages support O'Connor bowling.
[Missing: Extras breakdown; fall of wickets; in Cambridgeshire first innings duration and breakdown of Tebbutt's 108; in Hertfordshire first innings boundaries in Grellet's 74 and Titchmarsh's 51; precise time completed.]
Sources: Cambridge Daily News 2,3 August; Cambridgeshire Weekly News 9 August; Herts Advertiser 10 August; Watford Observer 10 August; Sporting Life 3,5 August; The Sportsman 3,5 August; Cricket 10 August, PAGE?????.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive