Durham v Lancashire Second XI
Minor Counties Championship 1953
VenueAshbrooke, Sunderland on 29th, 30th July 1953 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossDurham won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsDurham 1; Lancashire Second XI 3
UmpiresA Hardy, GWF Reeves
ScorersWA Glendinning (Lancashire Second XI), AC Lowerson (Durham)
Close of play day 1Lancashire Second XI (1) 10/1 (Dickinson 4*, Greenhough 1*)

Durham first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Keelerc Marner b MJ Hilton34     
HD Bellb DJ Smith14     
A Coxonc Fraser-Thomson b DJ Smith2     
F Robsonb DJ Smith1     
*RB Proudst Wilson b MJ Hilton29     
R Aspinallc Marner b J Hilton6     
K Williamsonst Wilson b MJ Hilton4     
MJ Tatec Barcroft b J Hilton0     
NW Owenlbw b J Hilton1     
+JG Foxlbw b J Hilton2     
HP Clodenot out3     
Extras(2 b, 1 w)3
Total(all out, 41.2 overs)99
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-31, 3-33, 4-82, 5-87, 6-93, 7-93, 8-94, 9-96, 10-99 (41.2 ov)
Lancashire Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dickinson10   3240--
DJ Smith9   0393--
Marner3   0120--
MJ Hilton11   583--
J Hilton8.21134--

Lancashire Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+A Wilsonlbw b Aspinall5     
TE Dickinsonc Owen b Coxon6     
T Greenhoughb Aspinall8     
S Smithnot out33     
P Barcroftlbw b Aspinall16     
PT Marnerb Owen9     
J Hiltonnot out19     
*AB Fraser-Thomsondid not bat      
MJ Hiltondid not bat      
DJ Smithdid not bat      
[unknown]did not bat      
Extras(3 b, 1 nb)4
Total(5 wickets, 38 overs)100
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-19, 3-25, 4-58, 5-76
Durham bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Coxon9   2201--
Aspinall19   6493--
Owen10   1271--

--> DJ Smith made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches

(Day 1) Start delayed on the first day until 3.15pm owing to rain, and rain stopped play again from 4.12pm - 5.19pm.
(Day 2) Rain stopped play from 11.40am to 11.45am and returned at 12.37pm causing the game to be abandoned.
Source: Durham CCC scorebook with thanks to Brian Hunt





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive