Cheshire v Durham
Minor Counties Championship 1978
VenueBoughton Hall Avenue, Chester on 6th, 7th August 1978 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossCheshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn (single innings match)
PointsCheshire 2; Durham 2
UmpiresWA Cooke, JE Lawton
ScorersCM Davis (Cheshire), AD Reed (Durham)
Close of play day 1No play

Durham inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PW Romainesc Hodson b Gemmell10 211- 
SR Atkinsonc Gemmell b O'Brien15 62-- 
Wasim Rajac Hodson b Robinson0 2-- 
S Greenswordc Hardstaff b Robinson83 14481 
NA Riddellc Bailey b Robinson45 937- 
PJ Kippaxnot out6 11-- 
DD Parsananot out2 8-- 
C Thomasdid not bat      
+RAD Mercerdid not bat      
*BR Landerdid not bat      
IA Wishartdid not bat      
Extras(1 w)1
Total(5 wickets, declared, 178 minutes, 50 overs)162
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-14, 3-44, 4-152, 5-158
Cheshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Robinson12   33631-
Gemmell18   3491--
O'Brien8   2251--
Sutton4   0110--
Bailey8   1400--

Cheshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
D Baileyb Wishart8 101- 
*JA Suttonc Mercer b Greensword37 8041 
RMO Cookec Parsana b Greensword30 10821 
NT O'Brienc Greensword b Kippax8 23-- 
SL Woodb Kippax14 352- 
IJ Gemmellc Wishart b Greensword2 3-- 
ND Barkerb Kippax0 1-- 
JRA Craggnot out0 21-- 
GC Hardstaffnot out0 6-- 
+T Hodsondid not bat      
PA Robinsondid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 3 lb)7
Total(7 wickets, 147 minutes, 46 overs)106
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-64, 3-85, 4-94, 5-97, 6-97, 7-106
Durham bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wishart9   3171--
Lander5   1240--
Greensword15   5433--
Kippax14   8143--
Parsana3   210--

--> GC Hardstaff made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> PA Robinson achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Durham innings (previous best was 2-30)

Source: Durham CCC scorebook with thanks to Brian Hunt
Rain prevented play on the first day - the decision being taken at 2.30pm.
The start was delayed until 1.18pm on the second day.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive